Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible hotel, no windows , small.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Dirty, Dark, and small rooms. Breakfast is terrible. Staff is not too friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brunei

A bit disappointing...

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Some lovely features, e.g.,tiled hallways, spiral staircase, the quirky well in the reception area, and the friendly young man who carried our luggage
Cons: The rooms need sprucing up; they are a bit shabby. The atmosphere is a bit odd- especially in the dark cavern-like breakfast room. Customer service.
Location: Excellent location in the Old Quarter, so plenty of shops, restaurants, bars, points of interest...
When we arrived at the hotel, the receptionist was really quite offhand, unwelcoming, and even clearly a bit irritated! There was a slight problem with the booking, I think. (To be fair, she was a bit friendlier the following day). When we eventually got our room, it had an extremely small window with a view of a wall, the air conditioner was noisy, and there was only a shower, with no bath. We were able to change room, to one right on the top floor, which was considerably smaller but was light and airy and had two windows with views. This room only had a little bath (no shower) and it took absolutely AGES to fill! Luckily we weren't in any rush. The double bed was two singles pushed together, and had extremely firm mattresses. The bedding was lovely, clean and crisp though. Generally, considering the price, everything was a bit on the shabby side; unlike the pictures on the website. The furniture is old and scuffed and the walls need painting, although the hotel is clean. The breakfast, too, was not great, except the made to order omelette. Overall, it was a bit disappointing. Customer service and some attention to detail would make a big difference, restoring it to some former glory it clearly had.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hanoi Boutique Hotel & Spa

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: surrounding this hotel many thing to see, shop and eat.
Cons: They need to improve the bed and also the Spa massage.
Location: same as above location is very conventient
The stay in this boutique hotel was average especially the bed was to hard that make my sleep not so good. Also the spa massage is really bad because the lady massager talk all the time when massage for us very disappointed and the massage was really bad no skill at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Luis, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest , Thank you for choosing us for your stay and leaving review on us .We would love to thank you for advice of hard bed and spa service to help us improve better .We had been renovating hotel conditions and services . We would love to take a chance to welcome back with new feeling of us . Have a great day . Yours sincerely ,
5 out of 5
by Sharron

Sharron' s favourite hotel in hanoi

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Hanoi boutique hotel is one of my favourite stats in Vietnam. I've had 6 trips to Vietnam & would only ever consider this hotel in Hanoi - old quarter. I love the staff, the rooms & the position. Will always only consider this hotel & the suites.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Disappointment Across the Board

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Cons: A/C, Cleanliness, Staff Friendliness
The staff at Hanoi Boutique Hotel left me feeling on edge, it wasn't a place where I felt incredibly safe. I was also disappointed with the breakfast, it was not on the same level with other similarly priced hotels that I stayed at in Vietnam. The air conditioning in the room did not work, and somehow, the shower smelled of rotten eggs when I opened it. Overall, very disappointed with this hotel. It was far from meeting expectations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Luis, Hotel Management
Dear Mr,Ms Bradley Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Hanoi as well as sharing your experience stay . We would like to express our sincerely apoligise for unexpecting to you . This had been shared and discussed with our team to improve better service and breakfast as you mentioned . We would love to take an opportunity to welcome you back soon with new feeling . Wishing you all the best . Yours sincerely ,
5 out of 5
by Louise

Wonderful Hotel, even more wonderful staff

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
I loved this hotel, but then at the end of our stay we visited Halong bay and someone mistakenly took our bag instead of their own, we had a very short time to get this sorted before we board the night train for Hue. The travel assistant at the hotel came into her own she was brilliant. not only did she speak to the company that arranged the tour she translated when the bag was found arranged a taxi to the hotel for us to swap bags and even accompanied us to the hotel to ensure that everything was ok. She couldn't do enough. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend to all my friends and family.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Wouldn't come back

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: staff
Cons: remodel bathroom
Location: near night market, Dong Xuan market and Hoan Kim
I was scheduled to stay in this hotel for 4 days. Location was great for night shopping and not far from much. When we arrived we were told our room was on the top floor in the "Executive Suite" which sounded great until we were told the elevator didn't go all the way up. It stops on the floor below and we would need to take the stairs up one floor. It was inconvenient but ok fine. When we got to our room there was this foul odor. It smelled of sewage pipes. We couldn't change rooms because they were full so we had to endure the room for one night with the help of some candles. The room had peeling paint, a safe that was not bolted to the wall and the lid to the battery part to the TV remote as well as RFID door is missing to top it off. The next day they were able to move us to another room. Turned out that room had a vent that did not work and had plumbing issues in the bathroom as well because when some other room flushed their toilet our toilet would bubble. The water didn't work on one of the days we were there, something had gone wrong with their water pump. On our last day we started to smell the same odor come from our bathroom as it did in the first room we were in. I feel I had the worst luck. My grievance is with the cleanliness of the hotel. I think the staff there were very nice and tried to be accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore, Singapore

Beautiful hotel in a great location.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Clean, spacious rooms with comfortable beds. Good location.
Cons: Oddly, some rooms come with a standing bathtub with no curtain, which makes showering messy.
Location: Just exploring the Old Quarter is an attraction in itself. The street food and night markets make it a very lively place.
The room was really spacious and well-furnished. Sofas made the room feel more homey, with paintings by local artists on the wall to liven up the atmosphere. A spacious bathroom with a tub and shower was provided. Needless to say, the room was spotlessly clean as well. Being in the Old Quarter, it's walking distance from most of the attractions in Hanoi; however the noise from the messy streets can sometimes be heard from the rooms at night. Overall highly recommended, and I'd definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Steam shower .. but not in a positive way

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Shower was in the middle of a very small room! Steam from shower made all of our clothes damp and moist. Don't know what designer was thinking. Room was incredibly small literally. Mold in bathroom (again poor ventilation) and bedding had someone else's hair on it() Velcro to make changing sheets easy. Breakfast neither good nor variety. Paid a lot for location, but could have done better. Poor choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Wonderful staff Excellent food Near the vibe of the city