Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel for price

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Large spacious rooms, beautiful Bathroom, friendly staff!
This hotel was exceptional right from the start. We were greeted at hanoi airport by our driver who was pleasant and delivered us to the hotel, the check in people were great, gave us hot tea and snacks while we waited and gave us good advice re taxis ( only use taxi group taxis). The room is large and furnished beautifully, the bathroom is also very nice. The only downside is the hotel is located outside of the old quarter ( but this meant less noise so we were happy). Taxis to the old quarter are cheap ($5usd) or a 30 minute walk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raheel from Canberra, Australia

Decent Location, friendly staff, dodgy rooms

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly, the breakfast staff in particular were very nice and helpful. We got more value from them about where to go then their travel staf
Cons: Water temperature in the rooms. Relocation is not always a solution. Bath tubs need curtains.
Location: Location was decent. It wasnt in the middle of everything and you had to take a taxi (albeit $4-5) to get to the happening places in the old quarter.
We stayed in this hotel after having to search several options in hanoi online. we wanted to be walking distance to place. The bell boy & the receptionist were very nice and helpful didnt speak english very well. The hotel manager was this older gentleman, always with a smile & fluent in english. The travel agent & booth on ground floor was useless. The guy was very cold, didnt welcome and advise us and seemed he was busy all the time on his laptop. We got into our room, unpacked and settled in only to realize that the TV had no reception and the shower in the bathroom was in a bath tub that sprayed water everywhere including the toilet that was right behind it. So after a shower the WHOLE bathroom would be wet. It was unbearable. We told this to the reception, who brought the manager. His first response was "its ok, we have a cleaner they will clean it tomorrow"... yes but we couldn't use the toilet the whole day as everything was wet... it was just poor design. They asked us to relocate to another room. We moved from fifth to 2nd floor. first thing we did was test the toilet and TV and all seemed okay until we unpacked & settled in. The water in this enclosed shower only stayed warm for 10 minutes max. Occasionally, there would be water dripping from the cieling of the bathroom next to the toilet. When we complained we were told to relocate again. We were tired of relocated so for the duration of this stay we tolerated it and took short showers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Derek from Croatia

Amazing hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Pros: Better than most of the five start hotels I have stayed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LIM from SINGAPORE

6 nights of Pleasant Stay at Hotel Emotions

Posted Jan 12, 2013
Pros: THE WARM SERVICE OF ALL HOTEL STAFFS
Cons: NONE
Location: TUG IN A PTE CORNER AND CLOSE TO MOST PLACES OF INTEREST
The service on arrival is excellent. When we are pick up at the airport by the hotel staff, the driver is well dress and the pte car to and from the hotel is very pleasant. They used quality car of japanese made. There was a tea and welcome fruits on arrival. The room was very pleasant and large but above all was the locations. It near most of the places of interest and and some outstanding restaurant. Rooms are well maintain and quite large especially the bathroom. The bell boy and the receptions was always there to greet all incoming guests. Restaurant on the 10th floor was also very pleasant and spacious and the waitresses and cooks are all very polite. FYI we book the SAPA and Halong package tour with hotel emotions and are very happy with the arrangement. In Halong Bay our cruise ship is large and the rooms are all very pleasant. There were a well mix of foreigners from the european and western countries. Will stay there again and book their tours to other places if we were to visit Hanoi in the future. Will definately recommend Hotel Emotions and their tour packages to all friends and relatives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel!

Posted Jan 11, 2013
Great service and feel just like home. Everyone smile~
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Priscilla from Rhode Island, USA

Good hotel but inadequate A/C

Posted Jul 19, 2012
Pros: Good location and freindly, helpful staff.
Cons: Air conditioning in the room not cold enough,
Location: Right across from the historic Temple to Literature and easy to access taxis for going all around.
The only problem was that the air conditioning was not cool enough. We had to ask for a fan for the room, which greatly improved our comfort. Westerners, especially those from the northeast of the US, are not used to the intense heat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Abby from UK

Quiet convenient backwater.

Posted Jul 10, 2012
Pros: Quiet and accommodating.
Cons: No back to desk chair.
Location: Near Temple of Literature
Really nice people, very nice hotel, quiet, not in the tourist maelstrom but still convenient, 2 mins from Temple of Literature but on a side street so not full of traffic. Breakfast was varied - Eastern/Western. For business travellers, the desk chair could have had a back! Very good value for money for a small, clean, hotel with extremely accommodating staff and good English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Becky from Camborne, Cornwall, UK

Hanoi Emotion... an Exceptional Hotel!

Posted May 17, 2012
Pros: The Service, the friendly and attentive staff. The location and the tours arranged by the hotel.
Cons: Food was sometimes slow coming from the kitchen and sometimes arrived at different times, but they only have a small kitchen, it was worth the wait
Location: Is close to areas of interest.. temple of lit, hang day stadium, etc
The hotel is lovely, very modern and well decorated and close to areas of interest (Hotel is a stones throw away from Temple of Literature and Hang Day Stadium). The staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly. The room was brilliant and housekeeping came everyday and made up the room as if it were all new. The bed was harder than i am used to, but was still comfortable.The staff throughout the hotel had exceptional service, they tended to every need, especially the bellboys. All staff provided amazing service, were very attentive and were incredibly friendly.During our last few days my travelling companion's phone was stolen (whilst out in Hanoi) and the sales manager of the hotel accompanied us to the police station twice, translated the events to the policeman and made the process easier. The Hotel Manager translated our report into Vietnamese. Without their help it would have been a complete nightmare. We used the sales manager to arrange tours, 1 of which was a cruise to ha long bay on one of their boats, which was amazing, the service and staff was incredible and i would highly recommend. The top floor restaurant provided a nice selection at breakfast (mainly Vietnamese food). Overall food at breakfast and at night was delicious. Prices were also very good.To be honest I can't fault this hotel, they did everything possible to ensure we had a pleasant stay, and our stay was awesome I would highly recommend and would definitely return when visiting Hanoi again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Acceptable for the price paid

Posted Dec 7, 2011
Location: Walking in Hanoi is nice, I said visiting the lakes and taking the cycle ride is a very nice and cheap way to get around the old French quarters and the Ho Kiem Lake. The Water Puppets Show is a must when in Hanoi, so try to book in advance. They have several shows in the day. Also the walking street market is a good place for cheap itesm and some handicratds. The Ho Chi MInh mausoleum and surroundign area including the Presidential palace are nice to visit. Mondays many places are close so book some time to go outside Hanoi. Visitign the wood carving and ceramic villages is very interesting and good to get some nice and cheap handicrafts.
The hotel is nice and clean and the staff friendly. Command of English is ok at reception but struggle at restaurant. Rooms are good sized and bathroom/restroom area is huge, although the glass walls maybe a little bit weird if you are traveling with friends (no privacy!) The location of the hotel is not so great in terms of appearance of the streeet (not a main one) so the taxi drivers had some hard times to find it. it is in walking distance from Hochi Minh Mausoleum and Temple of Literature, but far from the Ho Kiem lake and French Quarter area. If you are a good walker it will take you at least 40 minute to get there, but if not better take a taxi to go back and forth from the lakes. Restaurant is not bad, breakfast is good although with limited choices
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bkk

Near from hanoi station

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Good price good hotel.hotel level is more then price. Football stadion also 1min by walk.