Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by ANDREW

Convenient Hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was quite grubby by western standards, but I could expect little more for the money I paid. It was secure,The staff pleasant and seemingly trustworthy, and the local area in the old city fascinating though rather trying (culture shock). All services worked = wifi, TV (CNN and a few American English language services), air-con, hot water and the optional breakfast convenient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Close to the lake - In a Alley with local food

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff were friendly.
Cons: Safety issue with the door need to change. In case of fires people need to be able to get out quickly. New beds
Location: location is down a small alley near local restaurants.. So good to try local food, great to see local way of life, close to the lake
When we arrived the hotel didnt seem to have our booking. We arrived super early and knew our room wouldn't be ready. They got our room ready earlier than expect and it was appreciated. We are budget travellers and are use to basic rooms but after two sleepless nights in a row, we wanted to sleep. The room was musty, no ventilation but air con was good. They have used wall paper to cover mould which is a worry but the bed was lumpy and hard and not possible to sleep without being uncomfortable. The biggest worry we had was the key was attached to the power slot thingy. So every time we needed to shut our door we had to lock it manually as it wouldn't stay latched. Every time one of us needed to exit, we had to sit in the dark while the unlocking would happen. there was no option to shut the door without locking . We also had no hot water as stated. We dont expect much in our cheap travels but safety was a big concern. In a windowless room without the option to quickly open a door and get out (it had to stay locked) with the key power slot not being near the door was a massive safety concern. The money you pay you expect issues. The staff were very friendly and we felt sorry for them that we wanted to leave They tried to see if they could correct our issues but we knew they couldn't so cut our losses and left at 9.30 pm. They invited us to return for our free breakfast which was really lovely. Cheap hotel though and good for low budget travellers. We didnt want refund.
1 out of 5
by Theresa from Essex

Best Avoided

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Superior room was window less. Air conditioning left pools of water on the floor. Room felt unclean. Bed sheets should be washed in hotter water or with stronger detergent. Smell of other people lingered. Could not recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Clean room, friendly staff

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Orbitz
We stayed here one night. Although the room was a bit small, it was very clean and comfortable. We were on the fifth floor (which is the top floor anyway) so we had to climb some steps, but we didn't really mind it. Great location, down a little alley with other hotels and great food vendors. The staff were very friendly. I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by Gregory from Vancouver

Don't expect too much

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
You get what you pay for so don't expect too much. The photos look much better that in real. The manager is nice and refunded 75% of our second nights stay because we wanted to move. The breakfast was ok, bathroom not too bad, bed very hard, no window in the cheaper rooms and very small, wallpaper coming off the wall.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is in a great location and the staff are really friendly.
4 out of 5
by Dmitry from Moscow

Nice budget place, feels like local apartments

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Booked the room here while on a bus from Sa Pa, as we wanted to skip searching the room arriving late during the rainy weather. The pictures could be a bit less Photoshop'ed, though the room size was really impressive, and the bathroom was clean. There's no elevator, and we chose the room on the top (I think 6th) floor - it was an exercise to reach it every time via the steep stairway. Definitely not a place for older people, because of that, but it added more of "local" feeling to our stay. The interior is a bit worn out, but the cleanliness is adequate for a budget place. Breakfast can be chosen on a day before from several types of banh mi sandwich or omelette, plus bananas and Vietnamese coffee. The location was not exactly where Google Maps shows it, we had to ask a local, but it wasn't far anyway, and it's in the middle of Old Quarter, a few minutes walk both from nightlife and Hoan Kiem lake, but in a cozy small alley.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
Middle of old city. Nice location. Friendly staff. Poor facilities. We were on the fourth floor, and Hanoi is very humid, so getting to our room was a mission. Rooms were good size. Generally clean. Towels etc could be cleaner but I suppose you get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
by Frank from Berlin

A tranquil place in a busy area

Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels
The first hotel I stayed in where the shower is divided by a glass screen, at least in this price range. I booked the big room with balcony for a longer stay.