Ratings based on 693 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wow what a great hotel and staff!

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Everything.....history, rooms, food.
Cons: Vegetarian options
Location: Walk around to French side of Hanoi, lake , Old Quater........
Staff, food , room, history of hotel is what makes this hotel best in Asia. Take a walk around to see great French architecture....Uber to anywhere so cheap. AC is fantastic for hot weather....coming back again and this is my fav. hotel now in Hanoi. Stay ONLY is old building avoid Opera side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Best location, excellent staff, historic hotel

Posted May 8, 2017
Our second time to stay at the Sofitel Metropole, both times were flawless. The staffing is very friendly and helpful. Love the location for walking around lake and to old city streets. Pool and Bamboo Bar are great retreats from the Hanoi heat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Korea

Wonderful Hotel in French Area close by Hoan Kiem

Posted Apr 25, 2017
A trip for a long weekend turned out wonderfully, in more modern Opera Wing with access to Executive Club, just soo relaxing and a great retreat from the hustle and bustle of Hanoi and it's never ending traffic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice location

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Character, Staff, location and ambience.
The hotel had a very nice charm and character to it. The staff were very courteous and polite. Concierge desk were always very helpful and suggested nice places and restaurants. The room cleanliness was always immaculate - good housekeeping. Overall we had a fabulous time staying at the hotel. The
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The original grand hotel in Hanoi

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location, French colonial architecture, variety of on-site restaurants.
Cons: Rooms facing the street are a bit noisy (Hanoi's motorcycle traffic is notorious) and could use bait more sound isolation (second set of windows).
Location: Walking around the Old Town both during the day and late at night (with bars in full swing).
Staying in this hotel gives you a familiar feeling of famous grand hotels in other capitals (Plaza in NY, Claridges in London, Savoy in St Petersburg, Le Meurice in Paris) - service is excellent although a bit snobby, rooms are luxurious and the location is impeccable for those who like to explore the surroundings by foot.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

36 hours in Hanoi

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing hotel in a great location. The tour around the hotel was filled with interesting historical facts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic Hotel of the Highest Standard

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: This is a top price hotel but it delivers in service, style and grace. There is a variety of fine dining catering for European as well as Asian tastes
Cons: Nothing about the stay could be faulted.
Location: Avoid possible taxi scams - arrange for a car to and from the airport.
My interest in the history of Indochina and Graham Greene attracted me to the Metropole and it did not disappoint. Situated in central Hanoi amid French colonial buildings the hotel is well situated for Hoan Kiem Lake a few minutes walk away and popular with Vietnamese families and couples having their wedding photographs taken against the backdrop of the lake. The Metropole can be described as being in the 'French' area but the bustling Old Quarter is nearby and many tourist sights are within a short taxi ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Central and upscale district.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Fantastic experience. Well appointed rooms. Sublime bedding and sheeting. Many eating venues available on site. Extraordinary service. High-end shopping on the property. Looking for 5 star plus, then stay here. We will.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Five Star Bubble

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The pool area and bar.
If you absolutely need to live in a 5-star bubble when you are traveling internationally then the Metropole is the likely, though unadventurous and clichéd choice for you! Hanoi has many, many wonderful small lux boutique hotels that will give you a much better feel for the local culture and people. I stayed at the Metropole on my recent visit to Hanoi and found staff more focused on money than on service -- every interaction started with my room number and the charge for this or that. As an example, the daily breakfast buffet is $32 US. When my timid traveling friends left Hanoi and I stayed on, I moved to a boutique hotel in the Old French Quarters -- my room was bigger, my bathroom was enormous and the buffet breakfast was just $8.00. At the boutique hotel, the staff knew me by name from the first day on and every afternoon when I came back I truly felt at home and welcomed. At the Metropole, I felt like my wallet was the most interesting thing about me. PS, the airport transfer at the Metropole cost more than a night's stay at most of the high end boutique hotels.
4 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels