Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Exceptional service from the friendly staff!!

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: Staff and service second to none
Cons: Nothing
Location: Hanoi Old Quarter
This hotel is a real Gem from the moment we arrived the staff especially Martin & Michelle made our stay so enjoyable. From the friendly welcome to the advice we received regarding the best places to eat, whatever type of cuisine we fancied, Martin would always be able to give us recommendations. Every time we returned to the hotel we were always offer a refreshing fruit juice and fresh fruit, and Martin and Michelle always took the time to sit with us and chat about our day, nothing was too much trouble, they could not have been more friendly or more helpful if they tried. During our tour of Vietnam this was probably one of the cheapest places we stayed and yes it's not a 5 star hotel however the staff were the best by far and we received the best service of any hotel we have probably stayed in anywhere throughout the world!! Well done Martin & Michelle!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel, great staff

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Martin couldn't have been more helpful, he assisted us with getting the train to sapa (which is confusing) and even shared a drink with us while we waited. The staff really make this hotel special. Great location and large rooms too. We recommend to everyone visiting Hanoi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, clean, so friendly!

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Absolutely great experience. Martin (the manager) is exceptionally wonderful - he helped me plan an entire trip to Sapa & Hoi An booked all of the tickets, transportation, and hotel stays! So sweet and very accommodating - the hotel makes you feel like you have a home in Hanoi. I only officially stayed here one night, but Martin & the hotel let me take showers and freshen up during stopovers back to Hanpi after my trip to Halong Bay and again when I returned from Sapa. One of the women also bought me some cough drops (free of charge) when I was here the first night with a cold! Overall wonderful people, would highly recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Old Quarter near the lake

Posted Mar 29, 2015
We actually stayed at the hotel next door (Splendid Star Jupiter) because the toilet in our room at Grand was broken. They're owned by the same people and are essentially one and the same. We had a good stay here, it has a nice central location very close to St Joseph's Cathedral. NOTE: the church bells will wake you up! Breakfast was ok. Really it's the staff and the attention they pay you that makes this better than some other hotel. They were great! They sat us down the minute we arrived and got us some tea & fresh fruit and outlined on a handy map all the top spots and useful info. The WiFi is different for each floor and worked quite well. Other than a smelly bathroom (with no shower curtain and weak water pressure) we have no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

A Hidden Jewel in Hanoi

Posted Mar 23, 2015
We had a wonderful time staying at this hotel: convenient location, great breakfast, friendly staff, clean and spacious room; easy to take a airport mini bus or taxi to/from the airport. All in all we are very satisfied. Will highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Good value, highly recommend

Posted Mar 16, 2015
This hotel is in a quiet alley. Convenient location to shops, eatery, attractions. Hotel staff are helpful, breakfast menu offers many choices. Comfortable beds, spacious room, clean and nicely decorated. All in all a good value to stay. We left our luggage at the hotel when taking a 2 day Ha Long Bay tour. When we return, they upgraded our room for our second stay. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great hotel, excellent location

Posted Nov 3, 2014
This is our second stay at Splendid Star. It is a great little hotel in a quiet street just a few minutes walk to the lake. The staff are all terrific and Martin is a wealth of knowledge and happy to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Great Hotel!

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Great hotel ! Good Location with fun and friendly staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Methlick, aberdeenshire, scotland

An excellent hotel,in central Hanoi,

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Everything, and Martin and his staff
Cons: nothing, everything to me is excellent
Location: There is pleanty to do within walking distance
Upon arriving we were warmly greeted by hotel manager and staff, before we checked in we were sat down and served a complementary drink, and asked how we were and how our journey was, I found this to be quite a relaxing atmosphere, we were then shown to our room, which was very nice, with rose petals decorating the bed and towles folded into swans,that was nice to see the effort put in to make you feel welcome, the room was very clean, and even had socket adapters, in the drawer.The breakfast menu is excellent with a good choice and served quickly and well presented and served by the staff with a smile.The manager (Martin) is a extreamly nice guy to deal with, he is very helpful ,and always happy to help you with what ever you need,he will have a laugh with you and joke with you as well, Martins, english is very good also, he made our stay very enjoyable, when we were checking out Martin made sure that we got on the right train to Beijing by sending one of his staff to ensure we got the right train ,at no cost to us ,to me and my friends this was fantastic, Martin is certainly a great manager ,who is well organised along with his staff, other guests also say the same Martin is one of the best, and hopefully he,ll go far in this world.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Non staying couple

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Although we were booked into this hotel for 2 nights we did not stay. We found that the narrowness of the room and the stairs which had to be used to arrive at the restaurant were of no use to me as I cannot do stairs. The staff member who met us was very helpful in booking us into another hotel. We apologize to her for the inconvenience we put her through. We also did not like the idea of a taxi not being able to arrive at the front door.