Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by MEI SZE

Overpriced with such old hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Harbin Shangri la looks very tired. Wondering they did not do any refurbishment besides the room rate is not cheap.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
hotel is tired and need room remodeling and maintenance
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Excellent staff, good location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff, location by river
Cons: Temperature regulation of rooms
Location: Location is close to the ice festival, snow sculpture park, Siberian tiger park and the opera house.
I can't believe how nice the staff was here. We were visiting Harbin for the Ice and Snow Festival and celebrating our honeymoon. The staff surprised us with a cake and took pictures with us. The only issue we had was the difficulty regulating the temperature of the room. In the middle of winter, when it's below zero outside, they don't run the AC understandably, but it got very hot and stuffy in the room. If you have a portable humidifier, I recommend bringing it. The location is great for seeing the ice festival attractions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older Hotel but Still Overall Best Choice

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent 5-star hotel with good service & central location. The hotel is clearly older & rooms could stand to be updated/renovated. However, condition & cleanliness is quite good. Room temperature was very hot despite setting thermostat lower, but easily corrected by just switching the heat off altogether. Shang Palace restaurant was very tasty. The nicer & newer hotels are in a far location from central area, so this remains the best overall choice within the 5-star hotel class in Harbin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Great location, clean and friendly

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Very friendly staff, clean and convenient, just like most hotels in China, from my experience, is outdated somewhat, but I would stay there again. Great breakfast!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Janelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Very disappointed -- one of the worst stays

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Everything!
Location: walk along the river
This hotel is really disappointing. Our family visited Harbin in 2008 and stayed in this hotel. It was a great experience then, but this hotel has go downhill since then. I wanted to provided the best experience in Harbin so I chose this hotel again. I was totally disappointed in many ways: 1. Service. We booked two rooms. For some reason, only one room received a fruit plate. I talked to the front desk, she refused to provide another plate of fruit and came up with a reason that the other room is not booked as a Golden Circle member. I booked both rooms on Expedia under my name and I am a member. So I had to talk to the manager about it. If you run into staff at the front entrance, they greet you. Elsewhere in the hotel, they walk pass you as if guests don't exist. In 2008, they provided chocolate at turn down service in the evening, that was no more... 2. Hotel. The entire facility is so run down, lack of proper maintenance. My bathroom has several places that wall paper repairs look worse than a motel, bathtub has a black spot that not covered, the outside hallway air vent cover was broken. They really let this place go down hill. I heard similar stories about other locations of this hotel chain, the entire experience was so disappointing, I feel compelled to share my feedback with the management and with other travelers. Choose another hotel when visit Harbin, seriously!
5 out of 5
by Darryl from Los Angeles

Excellent Location, Service & Extras

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed at the Shangri-La Hotel in Harbin for 4 nights in late February 2015. We booked the trip to visit the Harbin Ice Festival. We have no regrets about this booking. We stayed in a room which included access to the Horizon Club. The Horizon Club was incredible. It provided us with private Hotel Check In and Check Out, a fabulous Hot and Cold Breakfast Buffet, including made to order omelets ad other egg dishes, Happy Hour cocktails, wine, beer and soft drinks and hot and cold hors d'oeuvres and sweets. The Horizon Club was open from 6:30 a.m. until 11:00 p.m. and provided great views of the city and river. Although English speaking hotel staff was at a minimum, the service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Stayed here before, pretty standard 5 star hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Staff very helpful
Cons: Tubs are awfully shallow for fat Americans
Location: Ice festival is fairly close, we also played on the frozen river, which is adjacent to the hotel.
I think the Shangri-La is the best hotel in Harbin, which does not make it comparable to the Shangri-La in say Hong Kong, however, given it's location, it is a nice comfortable place to stay. The staff is helpful, they have one person on staff (Nuria Martinez) who speaks both Spanish and English and is a great help. I checked in late on the day of my arrival, and although the restaurant was closed, the fellow managing the bar figured out a way to get me a burger and my friend some pot stickers, which we really appreciated, as we were hungry and tired. Nice place, will stay there again in the future.