Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel to stay in for one night

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: It was convenient for one night.
Cons: When we arrived and our stay was exactly how we booked it before we got there.
Location: It was good location to get to from public transport.
This hotel was good. We only stayed here for one night before moving on to another province to carry on with our holiday. The issues with this hotel is that they moved us about a lot and instead of having 2 non-smoking rooms, we all had to share one room between 3 people on this night. It was ok, but was a bit cramped. We were first given a smoking room, even though we had booked and reserved non-smoking then we spoke to the staff, who's English was ok but not the best, and we managed to get one non-smoking room in the end. This hotel still smelt a bit of smoke, but it was not as bad as the other 2 smoking rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

They smoke in the hotel rooms

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Check in was interesting. It was an okay experience but for the price I was expecting a lot more. Rooms are small but warm. They smoke inside the hotel rooms which is why I rated it so low plus the staff was not friendly or helpful actually.
4 out of 5
by Wallace

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was comfortable, could use a little upgrade and and deep cleaning but the room itself was clean and comfortable. Managed to make myself understood through broken English, would stay there again...the price was right
3 out of 5
by John

Not very good service!

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
Very slow internet! We ordered 4 month ahead, but hotel Ibis was not abel to fulfil any of our personal visches! Family room is very smal!; only for family of 2 people!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but staff quite unhelpful

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Good location and fairly comfortable room, but the staff were quite rude and unhelpful. There were lots of things in the room with price tags on which gave the place quite a negative vibe. We were also charged for "consumables" that we didn't use. The hotel was advertised as having "free high speed internet" but the WiFi was appalling and could barely access the internet at all the whole time we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Hotel is a good budget option

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Every time I travel to Harbin, I stay here at least part of the time. The rooms are clean, and the heat works fine. But no view from the room. The breakfast buffet costs RMB25. (RMB6.9=US$1). Buffet is ok, mostly Chinese dishes. However, you can fry your own eggs. Hotel is located downtown. Taxi ride to hotel from airport cost about RMB130 in smaller taxi and RMB200 in premium taxi.
4 out of 5
by Wai Man Elisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Room a bit small but clean.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Best part of this hotel is good location. Near Zhong Yang-home Main Street. Toilet and room is clean. Overall happy to stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Inception staff is very silly. She didn't even know how to use passport to check in. She asked me to go to police station to get a certificate to prove that I am a legal resident. I walked 20 mins out side which is minus 13 degree C and I was frozen. When I came into police station, police told me I did need that proved, all is the misunderstanding of the recent policy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, New Zealand

Best hotel of the trip

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Nothing
Location: St Sophia, shopping streets
Stayed here with my wife in late November in the freezing cold. Have stayed at the Ibis chain before so knew what to expect, but the Harbin Ibis was exemplary - good staff with fairly good language skills, tidy hotel, excellent room with a spare bed (good for the suitcases), warm, great clean-smelling bathroom, an overall great hotel at a great price. Breakfast I am told was also very good. When they say St Sophia's is close it is, just around the corner plus it is easy walking to the main shopping streets, and a 40 minute walk to the river (which was frozen of course). Taxis for most other things, but there always seemed to be a cab right outside the door. Would definitely stay here again, and we both wish all budget hotels in China were this good. But crikey, it was cold outside - take your thermals.