Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jay

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
We were there for the ice festival and upon returning from our cold day outside, we found our room was freezing. The window had been left open all day by the house keeping staff and it was so cold we could see our breath. We called the front desk and they immediately moved us into an empty room. They quickly and effectively fixed the problem and made us feel comfortable again. Great customer service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in convenient location, close to shopping ma

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Nice staff. nice rooms and nice meals in the restaurant
Cons: My breakfast was included in my room rate. however, on the last morning I needed to leave at 5 am. A breakfast box was prepared but the food was cold.
Location: Excellent location.
Staff helpful and friendly and I would recommend your hotel to friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good but not clean, not up to intern'l standards

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Location wise, Sofitel Wanda was a convenient choice for us as there's a shopping mall with a supermarket adjacent to the property. However, it was quite remote from the city center... took us 15-20 mins to get to the city with traffic (around RMB20 by taxi). Staff was friendly and very helpful. Although some cannot speak English well, they will get someone who can to serve you. Breakfast in the main area was just ok, not impressive but not bad either. We stayed in the Club and the lounge was quiet and peaceful with friendly staff. Breakfast choices in the lounge were limited though. If you don't mind the noise from the crowd, 2/F breakfast area is better. What bothered us the most was the housekeeping service. Although they visited our room everyday, what they did was apparently just replenishing towels and drinking water. We stayed for 6 nights and the shower room was never cleaned up. All the soap stain remained on the glass. Bed sheets had never been changed. There's a drink stain and it was there all the way. We doubted whether we got any fresh sheets when we first arrived. Big disappointment here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great happy hour at club lounge! friendly staff

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
Service was excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel, bit old

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Concierge
Cons: Hotel could use some renovation
Hotel itself is old, could use a bit renovation. Staff at concierge were nice and helpful. They gave us suggestions for places to see and found a taxi to drive us around so we can see more things in short amount of time. Hotel internet was very slow but we could access gmail which was a nice surprise.
4 out of 5
by Kelvin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Steve from Allentown, PA

Sofitel me it's not true

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
after four weeks in the prairie of China, Inner Mongolia, I could not wait for my Harbin assignment. I read many reviews (be careful) that discussed the cigar lounge at the hotel along with the shop to purchase said cigars. I am a cigar lover so I booked the hotel. Sadly when I arrived after the flight and taxi experience from Harbin Airport the clerk informed me that there was no cigar shop. Fear not as I bemoaned my state, the clerk called in the manager. Maggie to the rescue. She walked me some 300 yards to the Wanda Plaza shopping center and a first rate cigar shop! Of course I enjoyed one in their KuBar lounge later in the evening. First rate service from all personnel. Book it.
4 out of 5
by Bethany from Shanghai

Great for a weekend stay in Harbin

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels
I traveled with a group of 6 to Harbin for a weekend trip to the Ice and snow festivals. The concierge did an excellent job of hooking us up with a van for the weekend at a discounted cost. The rooms were comfortable with all of the rigth amenities. Since we had three rooms between the 6 of us, we noticed that not all of the rooms were designed the same (one of our rooms was lacking a shower and only had a bathtub shower that seemed to leak on the floor), but the other two rooms had showers and bathtubs. We also ate breakfast at the hotel each morning. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet (although the service for beverages was lacking), and while it said breakfast costs was not included, we were not charged at checkout for either meal. We also enjoyed drinks at the hotel bar one evening and thought that the service was fantastic.
2 out of 5
by Matthew from Sydney

Below standard

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
The best part about our stay was the friendly staff - especially at the concierge desk. The were very helpful in helping us plan our short stay. However, both rooms we had smelt badly of cigarette smoke but in moderately good condition. The hotel was full and were not prepared for the breakfast rush. The buffet was not re-stocked, they ran out of cutlery and the food was cold. This hotel was well below Sofitel standard.
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels