Ratings based on 323 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland oregon

Quiet clean hotel great location

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Location, old historical charm, room set up and comfort, balcony, cleanliness, the quietness (though we were there in October)
Cons: Quality of food and use of real eating ware vs using disposable. More "green" options.
Location: Didn't have time to take in anything more than a wonderful walk near the lake.
Excellent find. We were there in off season so there were not a lot of staff around but the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful and we loved the balcony off the back that overlooked the courtyard. The only suggestions I would make is to offer real real plates, cups and cutlery Instead of styrofoam and plastic. And to have some kind of recycling set up . The dining room and outdoor eating space is so lovely it would have been nice to enjoy a cup of coffee in a real cup instead of the feel of teeth gritting styrofoam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel walking distance to restaurants/shops.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Great experience. Rooms get a bit cold as fall is closing in, but walking to shops and restaurants and riding our bikes on the near-by trail was delightful!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Nothing!
I reserved a room at the Colonial Inn after seeing the review on the web. We arrived at the hotel and there was nobody there to check in with. We had to stand and wait for service. The room was extremely small and had a sloped floor. There was a door that opened onto a shared balcony - the door was a full glass panel and there was no covering on it except for a sheer panel. You could see right into the room. Later that evening our neighbors turned on their Jacuzzi and the noise it made sounded like a freight train. We closed our bathroom door to block the noise and we still couldn't hear our TV. a\Also, we couldn't open one of the closet doors without moving the night stand. The next morning I got in the tub to shower (there were no bars to hand on to) and the floor of the tub was like a skating rink. There were no gripper strips or anything and nothing in the shower to hand on to. I finally had to try and grab a hand towel to place in the bottom of the tub. This is clearly a safety hazard and should be reported. Needless to say, we left and the manager told us that we should have our money back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Classic

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Old resort feeling with updated rooms. Reminded me of Dirty Dancing without the drama.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Internet and food. Breakfast was Ike any chain restaurant. Unacceptable.
Location: Walking
NO INTERNET IN MY ROOM! Unacceptable! No I don't feel,like adding more to my review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Plam Beach, FL

Quiet Seclusion

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Nestled up from the lake and a good walk from town. Best quality of the Inn was the front desk staff. The room was comfortable but the beds way to soft. Breakfast was adequate. Enjoyed the walk to town. A very manicured, lush lakeside town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pentwater, Michigan

Spacious rooms with a short walk into town.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Wonderful hotel with a beautiful room. A public beach within a 10 minute walk. Huge closet area and very large bathrooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jacksonville fl

Nicely maintained and updated legacy hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Great spot in charming area and easy walk to shops and in town dining
4 out of 5
by Dennis

Nice for a fall getaway!

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, nice traditional hotel, great service.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harbor Springd Mi.

Bright paint looked nice, close to lake

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Room size was ok,large bathroom was surprise. Very comfortable beds with view to open courtyard from balcony. Got bit I think by spider. I killed one day he next morning in bathroom. Overall very adequate