Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2017
It's obviously an older hotel but we enjoyed our stay tremendously and appreciated the history and character of the Inn. The two room suite was comfortable and charming, and the bathroom was quite large and well layed out. Our girls loved the whirlpool tub, fireplace and balcony. We also enjoyed the proximity to the water, restaurants and shopping. We would definitely choose to stay here again. So much fun!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.W. Michigan

Quick Get Away

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Curb appeal and location.
Cons: Stressing quiet after 11:00 p.m. And before 8:00 a.m. Better breakfast
Location: Just shie of a mile from Harbor Springs, so very walkable Only a block from the bay which offers stunning views
This lodging offers a great location to Harbor Springs. The curb appeal is nice and fits into the historic location. A block to the bay offering a beautiful walk into town or along this historic home area. Pool area is small and fencing looks like it needs some care, but families were enjoying it. The breakfast area and porch are lovely as they are looking over the gardens and beautiful lawn, but the breakfast is only average. Our room was a nice size, our unit offered a window air conditioner which was loud. Opening windows for fresh air was a challenge with the hand cranks, some of which didn't work being older windows. This being and older type lodging the walls are thin and neighbor noise is an issue. While there we had neighbors who came in when the bars closed, then talked and sat outside on their porch or patios for way to long. it's the location that wins with the Colonial Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lathrup Village Mi

Incredibly charming hotel in Harbor Springs MI.

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Super charming hotel with tons of character in picturesque Harbor Springs Michigan. This Historical hotel has been updated to have the creature comfort's we expect but maintains its turn of the century quaint appeal. I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
This could be a very cute place. It's need some TLC.
4 out of 5
by Carla

Needed coffee maker and toilet paper in room

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
First day of the season. Needed a coffee maker and more toilet paper in the room. But otherwise was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint and peaceful with amenities and cleanlines.

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Quant little place in a serene setting. I would definitely stay here again. We were in town for the Zoo de Mac bike ride and this location was close enough to Boyne Highlands for us (about 12 minutes). Breakfast buffet was good and nourishing, especially before a 50 mile ride. The only improvements (and these wouldn't prevent me from going back) would be that they need a 2nd mirror in the room. The bathroom was the only one. Second, the door to the room was a little warped so it was a struggle to close it right and get the lock to turn. One of our keys also didn't fit the lock - this wasn't a big deal since we had two, but basically that door should be replaced. All in all, these were very minor things and the pleasant experiences here far out weigh these minor annoyances. I'd stay here again, and recommend it to any of my friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nostalgic & Location

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice, nostalgic hotel. Clean, comfy. Older hotel but did NOT have that old, musky smell that many other older facilities have. Has window units that are loud but that didn't bother us. Good breakfast. A working gas fireplace and dorm fridge! If you want a nostalgic touch in a great location that is inexpensive, look no further. Very quiet location, in a very expensive, high end neighborhood. Highly recommended. We would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The place looks nice and safe
We arrived past 5pm and checked in. When we got to our room assigned, the cleaning lady was still in the room and said that she in not done cleaning yet. We have to leave and came back after 2 hours
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

older hotel, looks like updating, would recommend

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: I think, the atmosphere is nice, it is quaint, clean, friendly people coming and going.
Cons: the heat in the room, did not keep bathroom warm. but other than that a very nice room.
Location: we were there in area for a wedding, did not do a lot of site seeing.