Ratings based on 930 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

The hotel staff are excellent.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Excellent staff.
Cons: The noise level of the A/C unit and the Wi-Fi speed and availability.
Location: The taxi is about $8 for going to the Columbia University.
The A/C unit for the room is very noisy. The Wi-Fi is extremely slow and sometimes unavailable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 5280, CO

Posted Sep 6, 2017
This is a very small 'boutique' hotel. For the price, lacks a lot of amenities (room service, concierge). Was surprised that there were no drawers in the room. The hotel is conveniently located in Harlem, close to many restaurants/bars and couple blocks away from the subway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Good location

Posted Sep 6, 2017
My stay was great. This was my 4th stay and the quality remains high. My only concern is I am allergic to cat dander and I saw a cat sitting in a nearby window. I will have to ask about cleaning policy for the future. To assure myself a sneeze free visit, I declined maid service for the 4 days I was there. I could not risk the maid transferring any cat hair to my environment. I also heard a dog barking in a nearby room,as I went to elevator. I understand animal lovers love to travel with pets but it only takes a few hairs to ruin my day. There has to be a balance for people like me. I did buy over the counter need just in case.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Fun location in Harlem

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: They run out of hot food at night if you need a. Quick bite
Location: Columbia University a short walk or quick cab ride away Heart of Harlem with hustle and bussle
Closest hotel to Columbia University. Convenient for dropping off kids to school and visiting. Saves long taxi rides or subway trips in New York :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Clean. Comfortable. A little bit smallish and could have used a fridge in the room, but no complaints, really. Would come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service and friendly staff

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The staff was wonderful and very pet friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. Only complaint was the air conditioner was too loud. Would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Fake review puzzles people. There is no breakfast evenif you pay $20 more in room rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: A different And pleasant experience.
Staff and locals are hospitable. You can bike everywhere without craziness of midtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great place to stay in Harlem!

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Stayed at the Aloft Harlem for a week. I had a training at Columbia University Teachers College and wanted something in close proximity to this. The Aloft was a perfect location. I was a 15min walk into campus. Subway location to go anywhere 5-10 minute walk. The hotel itself was great for the price. Limited service hotel so no room service or anything luxurious but a very decent, clean, and friendly space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was in the center of attractions. We wer

Posted Aug 11, 2017
We were able to walk to major attractions. The rooms were small, but comfortable. The reception area was small and unattractive; however the staff was polite and cheerful.