Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northants.

Quiet country retreat.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Local taxi availability.
Location: Couldn't say as used it for a nearby wedding.
Hotel and food very good, staff helpfulness was outstanding, thoroughly recommend 😎😎😎
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good value

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Food was superb, with a varied menu offering very good value.
A wonderful, relaxing (but interesting) stay. Friendly & helpful owner. Quaint and charming atmosphere. One night was too hurried as this place entices one to simply "slow-down" I'll book two nights next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Delightful!

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Everything was perfect ... I liked everything. Proprietor was very friendly and accommodating.
Cons: Plug-in near a mirror would have been nice.
Welcoming, relaxing and quiet. Charming atmosphere, excellent food, exceptional value. Truly wish we could have stayed another day. I will definitely return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange, California

Posted Jun 5, 2016
A very quaint hotel in the countryside far away from the noise and congestion of a city. Very nice early morning walks enjoying the tranquility of the country was wonderful. The staff were very accomodating to our needs and provided great advice about local areas of interest. The room was clean and appropriately appointed so we could relax and enjoy ourselves. Everything was there for our comfort. We dined here and found the meals delicious and well prepared. This hotel was recommended by a friend and I highly recommend this restaurant and hotel as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice room in a pub, great food and staff.

Posted May 28, 2016
Had the occasion to stay while on vacation during our son's 21st birthday. The owner went above and beyond to make a special full English breakfast for our son, complete with candles. Room was a little small, but I was thrilled to be able to have a room for 3. Idyllic English countryside small town pub.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

used for business trip- very accommodating

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: bed extremely comfortable, good size room. well decorated. quite area. provide what ever you request for breakfast.
Cons: would have liked nicer toilet paper. and the prevision of a towel as a bath mat. if there was free wifi available then provide instructions in room.
very enjoyable and relaxing experience. arrived late and went straight into my room. would have liked to have access to Wifi. room well lit. and easy to find every thing I needed. shower was good and easy to operate. I struggled to get much signal to use my phone. was easy to find parking and location was easy to locate using the post code in a sat nav. bed extremely comfortable, good size room. well decorated. quite area. provide what ever you request for breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Margaret from Skegness

weekend away

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
weekend away for anniversary and relaxing
3 out of 5
by Carl from Stoke

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
On Business, cheap hotel, needs more to make me go again, but friendly people
5 out of 5
by Douglas from Birmingham

Great 2 night stay

Posted Mar 5, 2016 on Hotels
The reviews what are already on this website are 10/10 for this nice country pub hotel. Food is great make sure you are hungry though big size meals, staff and locals make you feel welcome, do not feel like an outsider, when you walk through the door for the first time in there. Best money I have spent away for a long time, if your in the area and looking for somewhere to stay I would recommend here every time. if and when i am back in the area working this will be my first port of call to stay. beats the big chain hotels hands down ......:)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire

Nice accommodation in a village pub.

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Nice accommodation in a village pub. Owner & staff very friendly & helpful. Food excellent, having had an evening meal & breakfast the following morning. The owner & chef, Mark couldn't be more helpful.