Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Historic old inn in the high street

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Pros: The location and the old-world charm
Cons: The hotel needs a lot of investment. The facilities are old and shabby, especially the bathroom.
Location: High street location - perfect for exploring local area.
We booked this hotel on the basis of it offering a family room for four at reasonable value. It is a historic old inn on the high street of a charming market town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great pub with small but clean rooms

Posted Jan 11, 2018 on Hotels
Rooms seem to be kept clean, and beds are comfortable. Pub downstairs is great, with friendly bar staff and locals. Well looked after at breakfast time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Tired

Posted Oct 31, 2017
The hotel is full of character but certainly shows its age. The shower in our room did not work and we were unable to switch off the radiator so it became overly hot. Very friendly staff and we had an excellent evening meal there. Was also in an excellent central location for everything we needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by David

Nice country hotel

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
The Swan oozes local charm and is good value for money. A good breakfast, great beer and the host with the most. Rooms and plumbing are very dated but that is a part of the charm, I will certainly stay again in preference to other establishments I have used in the same area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel - bit tired

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: location, bar, breakfast, staff
Cons: modernize the bathrooms
Nice Hotel, bit tired, very old, steeped in history, stairs not for the faint hearted as they are very wonky. staff very good, breakfast very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Coast USA

A nicely restored inn with a history

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
The staff is friendly and helpful. I enjoyed dining downstairs and imagining myself chugging a beer there, back in the day, sitting across from my ancestor Edward Fuller. The town is delightful. St. Mary's Church is magnificent, a legacy in my family and well worth a visit.
5 out of 5
by Jill from Queniborough

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was great x good service x hotel could do with refurb x
4 out of 5
by Irene from Northampton

Swann

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel let down by breakfast staff really nice
4 out of 5
by Jim from Worcester

Work

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Good place to stay nothing too fancy but great food in the Bar and made to feel very welcome