Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel - bit tired

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: location, bar, breakfast, staff
Cons: modernize the bathrooms
Nice Hotel, bit tired, very old, steeped in history, stairs not for the faint hearted as they are very wonky. staff very good, breakfast very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Coast USA

A nicely restored inn with a history

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
The staff is friendly and helpful. I enjoyed dining downstairs and imagining myself chugging a beer there, back in the day, sitting across from my ancestor Edward Fuller. The town is delightful. St. Mary's Church is magnificent, a legacy in my family and well worth a visit.
5 out of 5
by Jill from Queniborough

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was great x good service x hotel could do with refurb x
4 out of 5
by Irene from Northampton

Swann

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel let down by breakfast staff really nice
4 out of 5
by Jim from Worcester

Work

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Good place to stay nothing too fancy but great food in the Bar and made to feel very welcome
4 out of 5
by Elaine from manchester

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
Attending a friend's wedding. Arrived a lot later than expected, due to weather condition. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Lovely breakfast. Would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

noisey and carpet very dirty

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: breakfast
Cons: more staff to clean and serve customers
Location: plenty to do lovely old town
not much sleep noisey outside people shouting andbathroom dirty smelt of blocked drains needs a bit of bleach down loo and sink loo was brown stains not clean at all
3 out of 5
by Mike from Derby

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
Our arrival didn't get off to a great start. The receptionist was having a bad day and was quite surly. The rest of the staff were great, especially in the morning. This is a very old building, with plenty of character, but the room itself was very tired, especially the bathroom. Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly. Overall, given the lateness of the booking, it was reasonable value for money.
5 out of 5
by Colin O from Nottingham

GREAT SERVICE ON ARRIVAL

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels
ON ARRIVAL I WAS GREETED WITH A FRIENDLY SMILE......AND AFTER A BAD DAY IT WAS MUCH APPRECIATED,THE STAFF ARE GREAT, HOME FROM HOME,WENT AND HAD A BEER IN THE TRADITIONAL BAR AND READ THE PAPER TO CHILL OUT.............GOOD PINT AS WELL.GOOD BREAKFAST TOO!WHEN IN THE AREA NEXT I'LL STAY AGAIN!
3 out of 5
by Biker WM from West Midlands

Good Service but Looking Tired

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels
We experienced great service and very nice food. Rooms are tired and most areas of the hotel need a 'lick' of paint. Expensive for the quality of room compared to similarly priced hotels.