Ratings based on 392 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grays

Nice hotel in the countryside

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Good hotel. Good bed. Good breakfast. Great dinner and afternoon tea. Geeat things to do outside the countryside and in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good Hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2018
The scores this time do not reflect my normal experience of this hotel. I’ve stayed many times, but the room I was in this time was not to the usual standard, and the walls were very thin that I could here very word if the person in the next room!! Not a great nights sleep.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2018
The hotel was beautiful, very friendly staff. Would definitely come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Keep the good service
Location: Stayed in
Had the most exciting time as I proposed to my girlfriend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eynsford

Anniversary break

Posted Dec 29, 2017
I’ve been visiting Down Hall for 30 years for short birthday and anniversary breaks. Although very busy over Christmas we had a fantastic lazy break and will no doubt return again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from manchester

Good dog friendly hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Pros: The size of the room, the very fast wi-if, the housekeeping services, the grounds and the breakfast.
Cons: Variety of hot food at breakfast and variety of TV channels and entertainment.
Location: Bishops Stortford is a lovely shopping area for a spot of shopping
We stayed here for 3 days prior to Christmas. The hotel is used a lot for corporate events but this did not distract from the quality of service. The beauty treatments in the spa were good and the staff lovely. Our room was ideal for dog owners like ourselves as the patio doors opened straight onto the superb dog walking grounds - this as easy to manage with our dog. The room was well serviced and anything we asked for we were speedily given through housekeeping. Breakfast set us up for the day well although I would have liked a little more variety to the hot food. We ate in the hotel on one night and although expensive the quality of the food was excellent . We will stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunblane

Somewhat disappointing

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Very attractive hotel.
Cons: An open fire in the bar would have been nice instead of an electric one, as it was quite chilly. The lighting in the dining room was very bright.
We needed a one night stop over in the area as we had an appointment early in the morning. I had booked this hotel rather than a budget hotel as a bit of a treat for myself and my husband and had booked dinner in advance to this end. It had snowed, something that had been forecast several days earlier, but the car park was icy and it was difficult to walk to reception from the car over ice and slush. When we checked in and I mentioned our evening meal, I was told that, because of the snow, deliveries had been disrupted and we could only have a bar meal. I was very disappointed, especially as, other than a risotto, the bar menu consisted of burger and chips, fish and chips or steak and chips. In fairness, the risotto was very nice, but it was far from the 3 courses with a bottle of wine that I had envisaged and I do feel that, since the weather was forecast, arrangements could have been made to overcome this problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Great hotel, historic character

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Great hotel, nice character, rooms nicely furnished, warm and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Teresa

Downhall for a Downton experience.

Posted Nov 23, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous country manor in the middle of nowhere. We booked an executive room and were really impressed with the size of the room. Beautifully decorated with all home comforts. The hotel itself is really beautiful, it was like visiting a stately home. Loved reading about the history of the house. Good restaurant and cocktail bar and breakfast very good value for money. We were traveling to stay with family and had booked fo one night, loved it so much that we stayed there again on our return journey. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by Jayne Gale

Posted Nov 19, 2017 on Hotels
Clean and tidy room and friendly accommodating staff nothing was too much trouble