Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice. close to historic sites

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Excellent staff. very friendly. Booked one night and decided to stay another.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington VA

Close to Harpers Ferry

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Clean rooms, easy to get to Harpers Ferry, convienent.
Cons: Breakfast could be less processed and more natural organic.
Good hotel with good facilities, nothing fancy but does the job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Great location for our purposes. We hiked a bit of the Appalachian Trail and visited the AT Conservancy. The room was quiet and comfortable, and had plenty of free parking. We walked from our room to the beginning of our hike.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Exceeded expectations

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Went in with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room and the motel generally. There were a few less than satisfactory aspects (e.g in-room coffee maker didn't work and the replacement didn't work either) however for the price you shouldn't expect perfection. The staff were generally friendly and the room facilities were functional but what you'd expect. If you don't have a car it's a short hike up and down hill to get to the Old Town, or you can risk a 150 yard walk by the side of a dual carriageway (not recommended in the dark) to get to a flat route. If walking from the Amtrak station (there are no taxis) it takes about 20 minutes. After that it's easy to get round on foot and you can take advantage of the National Park shuttle that runes between the visitor centre and the Old Town every few minutes. On a November evening at least the local food options are limited (the Italian restaurant which is just up the hill is very good) and there are not really any bars open although there is a handy liquor store.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, efficient, comfortable enough.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Nice staff, decent breakfast, clean, decently comfortable room!
Good hotel overall if you're looking for a simple place to stay in Harper's Ferry- closest you can get other than the bed and breakfasts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Clean Rooms

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Great location in relation to the attractions.
Location: Easy walk to Harper's Ferry
The room was ready a little early and the staff was polite and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

First stop on our way down the Shenandoah Valley

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: I think I covered that in my above comments
Cons: The hotel had a map of the Old Town. We asked at the desk about eating establishments and were told about them. Unfortunately they were closed.
Location: Parking in the Old Town is terrible
I booked this hotel online and thought it was "closer" in the old town of Harper's Ferry. Still if we chose we could have walked down town. The young man at the front desk was very helpful when we arrived...as was the rest of the staff during our stay.The room was very nice and clean. The breakfast in the AM was also good. I would certainly stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Very helpful staff

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Location and convenience
Cons: No complaints
Location: It was close to all the things we wanted to do.
Great location for Harpers Ferry. Easy in and out parking to the Harpers Ferry park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesapeake, VA

Harpers Ferry Mini Vacay

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: One of the most naturally beautiful locations on the planet. Multiple stone ruins. A step back in time, and so many photo ops for mountains and rivers
To be honest, after staying at many Econo Lodge motels, our expectations were not that high. They are generally acceptable, but older, less clean, and average. We were greatly surprised and pleased with our stay at the Harpers Ferry location. The staff were all very personable and helpful. The room was super clean (and smelled clean too), and the beds were more comfortable than over-priced rooms we have stayed in, like at the Marriott. Probably the best night's sleep at a motel I have ever had. I was thrilled to get 4 pillows per bed, and had no backache in the morning. The breakfast was fresh and had protein - eggs and sausage and gravy. We could not be happier or have nicer things to say. Good Job Harpers Ferry crew!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, United States of America

Excellent value! Highly recommend!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: I can't say enough about this hotel--fantastic location, large, clean room with super comfy bed, the free breakfast included the usual cereal, fruit, yogurt and pastries but also sausage, egg, biscuits and gravy, and make-your-own waffles! The free WIFI is smokin' fast, staff is friendly and helpful, and there are even laundry facilities for guests to use. All of this, plus a short and beautiful walk to downtown Harper's Ferry make this hotel a 5+ star hotel.
Cons: Everything was great, there was nothing to improve on in my opinion.
Location: Harper's Ferry is a beautiful, historic location. There's something for everyone here--history, good food, shopping, hiking, gorgeous views.