Ratings based on 946 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, NC

Nice hotel close to many attraction.

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Close to all attractions within Hershey and Lancaster
Cons: Coffee needs to be "stronger".
Location: We visited the Chocolate World (less than 2 miles). We also drove to Amish Country Farm in Lancaster (45 min drive) which was a scenic ride.
Greeted well upon arrival. Everything was set since we made reservation thru Expedia.Overall rate from my view is 3 and half stars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barrington, NJ

Inexpensive choice

Posted May 1, 2016
This is a no-frills way to stay close to the Hershey attractions. The room was clean and comfortable, but the breakfast was very limited. We have stayed here twice, because we're only looking for a clean bed and bathroom to stay for a night at a time. Our room was on the backside of the property this time, which made it nice and quiet. We also had a first floor room with direct access to the parking lot.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maryland

Nice hotel for what was needed

Posted May 1, 2016
Nice location, great staff, just the right thing for what I needed.no more no less.would stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pa

Short Stay

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Breakfast was disappointing and very limited - the hair drying was broken but otherwise an overnight stay was okay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Randoloh

Close to the park

Posted Apr 18, 2016
We pulled in late, and check in was thankfully fast. The room was in a terrible place: on the road which meant loud traffic all day and night. The walls are also super thin and noise came from every side since we were also placed by the stairs. The bedspreads were slightly stained. The bathrooms very small, but with great hot water! Lastly, when we left the next day we were checking for our children's toys and came across a used foot nylon in our kids bed. It wasn't ours. :( Ewwww.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from greensburg PA

Not a clean place

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: cleanliness, room maintenance, get rid of the smell
Sheets weren't changed from previous guests. Found child's toys under the bedspread. Beds are uncomfortable, lighting was terrible. Don"t recommend this place
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hershey Porsche event

Posted Apr 17, 2016
We weren't expecting anything fancy, but this hotel was definitely a step back to the 50s. Chopped up floor plan; unclear directions to front desk; lots of stairs/steps. It was clean, and the restaurant was very nice, but not at all meeting modern standards and expectations. The people were also nice, but the front desk amenities were sub-par, as well. Not our intent to be cruel. It just needs a lot of new investment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central PA

Easy to find

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: Easy to find, close access to restaurants, breakfast and clean rooms.
Cons: Sink draining well and door shutting completely without being pushed
Location: It is located on Chocolate Ave. There were many restaurants close by and all the Hershey related attractions were in the close vicinity.
I stayed at the Howard Johnson Inn while at a Conference in Hershey. It was Ok, but there were a few things which could have been better. The hotel was on Chocolate Ave and easy to find. I was staying for two nights and had booked thru expedia. My husband was coming the 2nd night, Expedia sales rep said I had to book two different rooms. When I got to hotel I asked them if I could possibly just stay in same room. They said yes, but it cost extra to do it. One of the two sinks didn't drain well and the door didn't latch unless you pushed or pulled it shut. Room was clean and neat. TV was nice and large. We did hear a lot of traffic. Overall, it was OK.
3 out of 5
by Brenda

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
problems with Wifi and parking is awkward it was good for just overnight and they let us heck in vey early which was VERY much appreciated!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morrisville, PA

Nice hotel for visiting Hershey, PA

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: See comments above.
Cons: "What if", one of the best gourmet restaurants in Hershey is located in the basement of the hotel. It's not your father's HoJo. Promote it more!
Location: Hersheypark, etc., But we were there for a medical reason. My wife needed vein surgery from Hershey Medical Center. The best surgeon in his field!
Wonderful 3-day stay. . Section where we stayed appeared to have been renovated recently so everything seemed new. New fixtures in bathroom. All the lamps worked with a singe push of a button and were equipped with bright bulbs -- 100 watts or better, it seemed. Fridge and microwave seemed new. TV wall mounted was perfect and reception was good. Mattress on the bed was very comfortable and seemed new. Quite a bargain for the price.