Ratings based on 552 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel located central to most of the city.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: CLEAN THE ROOMS UP COMPLETELY WHEN A VISITOR CHECKS OUT!
Was given the wrong floor that my room was on and the directions were wrong. When I finally found my room and got inside, the floor had been barely cleaned as there were crumbs around the carpet and the carpet was filthy. The room refrigerator had been cut off and there was sandwich meat, three salads and grapes that had been left for some time with water dripping off the shelf. Fortunately I had frozen Ice Packs which stay frozen for 24 hours and was only putting a six pack of water in to use while there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Jelissa R, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Park Inn by Radisson standards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reeders, PA.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Could not sleep at all, cheap mattress. Springs were hurting my back all night. Never will I stay there again. Thank you Expedia for the worse experience I had because of you. Will never block through Expedia again, very disappointed, you charged my card before I saw the room and the hotel help desk refused to refund my money. I had no choice but to stay overnight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good night’s sleep due to the comfort of your bed during your stay. We know a good night’s rest is very important. Also, we apologize that you felt like you were not well taken care of by our staff at that time, in regards to your charges. This is not the kind of experience we want our valued guests to have. Our team is working hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receiving our best service. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We hope to see you again in any of our Park Inn By Radisson Hotels in the future. Just in case you need clarification about the charges in your account prior to your stay, kindly reach out Expedia directly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Smelled like cigarettes when we first walked in.

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Orbitz
When my family and I first walked in, the place was very stuffy and smelled like cigarettes. Though, it wasn't terribly dirty, the room didn't​ feel clean, and therefore, it was very uncomfortable being there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Polite and inviting staff, convenient location

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Location, and having a restaurant and bar on site
Cons: Cleanliness and finished look in rooms, like bathroom light fixtures not being in a rough sawn hole but having trim properly in place for example.
Location: Right across the street from a number of different restaurants and less than 10 minutes from a large mall, yet still a peaceful location in the city.
Great food at the on site restaurant and bar is convenient to not need to leave the hotel, yet it's also a great location with other restaurants across the street and a large mall less than 10 minutes away. However it could be a little cleaner. The walls and floor in bathroom had stains in the grout between tiles, bathroom ceiling very dusty and unfinished around light fixtures. Also saw a few tiny ants in the room and bathroom. Overall great service during check in and out, but I did not mention any issues while there because not much time was spent in the room so not sure how that would have been handled. Had I needed to be in town another few days, probably would have just switched to a different hotel, as I don't believe complaints would help if they don't do thier best on up-keep from the start.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
After we checked in, we found the beds were not made, and there were no blankets or bedspreads in the room. The shower head leaked so that water sprayed over the curtain, onto the ceiling, and collected onto the floor. Overall, needs maintenance and repairs. Looks dated.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find a different place to stay!

Posted Dec 9, 2016
The room was filthy and unsafe - the door barely closed, let alone lock! The pool area was not well kept and the very small towels felt like sandpaper!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by Jelissa R, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We apologize that our facilities did not meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been heard and we will use your feedback to prevent similar situations happening in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, great location

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was very nice, hot breakfast was great! It's a good thing I'm a bit short, as the shower head was very low. King bed was too firm for my taste. But it is in a great location, so I probably would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent Motel Near Restaurants and Shopping

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Decent motel overall. I say motel because it's not a hotel. We stayed on the second floor, so I felt a little more comfortable. Not sure I'd like a first floor room with the parking lot right there. Non-smoking room still smelled like smoke, but these were probably all smoking at one point. Tons of restaurants and shopping up and down the Carlisle Pike.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 31, 2016
We had a two night stay Overall good only 2 bath towels and maid did not clean our room. Requested more towels and never received them.