Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Decent for relaxing

Posted Aug 27, 2015
There is two pools. One inside and of course one outside. Also there is a very large hot tub which was where my companion and I spent most of our time. The casino is only about 20 min away we also stopped there for a bit too. Large room and comfy bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Perfect hotel especially for the kids

Posted Aug 25, 2015
We arrived after a long day at Hershey to the hotel about 9:45pm the restaurant within the hotel accommodated all six of us for dinner although they were closing in ten minutes which was so awesome. The waitress was such a doll ...the room was spacious and quite comfortable and the amenities within the hotel were fantastic with an enormous and beautiful pool altogether we were quite pleased
Comment from EPC
Aug 27, 2015 by Randy, EPC
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit with us. We value your kind words regarding our accommodations, amenities and service, and thrilled you enjoyed everything about your experience. The food and beverage team will be happy to learn how much you appreciated their great service. Thank you for your business. Best regards, Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, Pa

Ants in first room

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: The pools.
Cons: The carpets throughout the hotel were dated and dirty. New flooring throughout. And to clean the bottom floor rooms up to resemble the upper floor.
Location: Location great. Near Hershey and Harrisburg.
We had ants in first room, we went to manager and he gave us a wonderful room. The new room was spacious and very clean, with a couch and two televisions. The staff was very helpful. It is a great family hotel with the two pools and hot tub and wonderful play areas for children.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel on the hill had a great view but ........

Posted Aug 22, 2015
The hotel can be a nice place and I'm sure it was at one time! The place was very dirty and out dated. The smells of "weed" and garbage dumpsters were unreal. I heard that their was new management and I hope they can make new changes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2015 by Randy, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We regret to learn of your complete dissatisfaction with the accommodations we provided you. The leadership at the Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East takes your feedback very seriously and will address it accordingly. We have zero tolerance for any type of illegal substance and are committed to handling it swiftly and in accordance with the law. My sincere apologies for failing to meet your expectation as a valued guest. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again with a much better experience - #guaranteed. Sincerely, Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Hotel Staff Was Very Helpful To Us! One Young Lady Went Above & Beyond To Help Up With A Problem That We Had!
Cons: WIFI!! Our Sink Was Clogged...Had A Problem With Water Collecting In It!
Had A Nice Stay Here! Even Though We Didn't Get To Use The Pool, Saw The Wonderful Area That This Hotel Has For It's Visitors.....Stayed At Another Hotel Who's Fitness Area & Pool Couldn't Hold A Candle To The Red Lion Hotel's Area For It's Guests!!
Comment from EPC
Aug 22, 2015 by Randy, EPC
Dear Valued Guest, We are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry you did not get the opportunity to enjoy are outside amenities. We appreciate your business and hope for a future opportunity to see you relaxing poolside - #smiles. Best regards, Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Hotel for a quick stay

Posted Aug 17, 2015
We only went to see a concert so spent no time in the room except to sleep, although it was clean and roomy. No refrigerator. Hallways were outdated. Bright yellow and stained. Kids running around everywhere. Disappointed there was no continental breakfast for the price we paid. Everyone has bagels and juice. It was the closest we could get to Hershey at the time.
Comment from EPC
Aug 18, 2015 by randy, EPC
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for selecting us as your lodging choice during your visit to see Maroon 5 at Hersheypark stadium. We had several guests stay with us who went to the concert and everyone I spoke with said it was awesome. We do offer complimentary refrigerators upon request and will deliver them to your guest rooms. We also have a bed and breakfast package available. My apologies for the condition of the hallway carpets. We deep clean them on a weekly basis and will continue to do so until capital funding is approved for replacement. We appreciate your business and hope to accommodate you again in the future. Sincerely, Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Convenient and clean

Posted Aug 17, 2015
We stayed in a junior suite and it slept 4 adults, a 5 year old and a toddler. Easy to find parking, breakfast wasn't bad, staff was super friendly and it wasn't far from Hershry Park.
Comment from EPC
Aug 18, 2015 by randy, EPC
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and future Expedia travelers. We are delighted our junior suites offered you comfort - #smiles. We also are thrilled our friendly service culture made you happy. We appreciate your business and hope to serve you again soon. Best regards, Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Close to Hershey Park, and other attractions.

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Loved that there was plenty for my kids to do & pool options. Staff and Hotel Mgr were great. Nice to see Mgr personally interact and greet people.
Cons: Fumigating rooms might help w/ant issues. Indoor pool should stay open later if possible for those who are out all day & want to enjoy a night swim.
Location: Hershey Park is 15 min away, there's also a Super Walmart, and lots of places to eat & stores. Adventure Sports is a great place for kids / adults!!!
I recently stayed here for 4 days with my family & had a great experience overall. We were checked in immediately. Kids absolutely loved the room given to us because it was bottom level & we could see / walk to the pool/ hot tub / main lobby / gym anytime which was a plus! Pool was always clean with plenty of room to swim around and not feel crowded. The play area was awesome to have, great for parents who want to relax for a bit while kids play, basketball and volleyball was also great choice for the older ones. My only 2 small complaints with pool area is that there never seemed to be enough clean towels in bin - sometimes there weren't any or I grabbed them early in the morning. I had to bring my own towels 2x. they also had a Tiki looking drink/snack place by pool area which never opened while we were there so that was a bit disappointing. Our room was perfect, only issue was there were a few ants on the desk table so 1st night I was killing them with a piece of paper & I made sure not to leave any snacks or drinks out to avoid anymore ants invading our room. I also had to leave a note for housekeeping 2x to please leave more towels because there weren't enough towels for everyone checked in (my kids were sharing a towel) housekeeping ignored my polite note 2x which was rude. Aside from these minor things, our stay was great, we were close to parks, stores, and many places to eat from. We ate breakfast everyday at the hotel which was nice PLUS kids eat FREE - GREAT Staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2015 by Randy, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for writing a review of your overall stay with us - much appreciated. We strive for complete satisfaction when a customer selects us as their choice, and delighted when they depart very happy. Our resort type amenities are unmatched and continue to offer outstanding value. I am sorry to read of the ants in your room. Our pesticide company visits weekly and treated the area noted. I purchased more pool towels to avoid the inconvenience we caused you and your family. I have reviewed your noted request of additional towels with the department director and I am confident we have corrected this simply request moving forward. We will revisit opening our poolside snack bar during high occupancy times rather than Friday and Saturday. Thank you for you business. We hope to have you visit us again. Best regards, Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Ok. Hotel. You get what you pay for.

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Staff was very nice but once we got into our room it was a different story. Carpets were old and faded. Bathroom door would not close and there were no complementary soaps to wash your hands. the tiolet was loose and rocked and made a loud noise when you used it. The beding was clean and the room appered clean but there seemed to be a damp smell in the room. Pool and hot tub were the best part!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2015 by Randy, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. I am sorry to read your stay was just OK - my apologies. We strive to offer comfortable "ready to enjoy" accommodations 24/7 and disappointed when we fail to meet a valued guests expectations. The condition and lack of guest bath amenity items noted in your review are unacceptable and will be addressed. I will make sure our inspection checklists are used in accordance to our standards. We appreciate your business and hope for another opportunity to make your stay much more enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Great pool & playground for kids for an over nite

Posted Aug 10, 2015
About 20 minutes from Hershey Park. Room was clean. Outside pool & hot tub was clean, insude pool was rediculously noisy, good for kids. If your a hotel snob & want a 5 star, this one is not for you. & I don't suggest the buffet breakfast it was terrible. But if your traveling with kids it good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2015 by Randy, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate when a valued guest takes the time to offer us insight of their stay. I am sorry to read our breakfast buffet was not at all what you expected - my sincere apologies. It's nice to read you and your children enjoyed our amenities, and that you were able to take full advantage of them. Thank you for your business - much appreciated. Best regards, Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME General Manager