Ratings based on 1,023 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Worst experience

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The room was not clean. There was hair clumps in the bed. Ashes on the bathroom floor and counter. Dirty towel hanging over the shower curtain. The room smelled like smoke and there was some type of lubricant all of the night stand. Was not happy picking up my phone and finding that stuff on it. I will say the switched my room and gave me one free night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoke filled crime scene motel - stay away!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Next to a McDonalds.
Cons: Hire security. Hire a second front desk clerk. Completley remodel the rooms, clean them, disenfect them.
Location: Hershey Park is only a 15 minute drive away.
With empty beer cases surrounding the perimeter of the building, our bad-hotel radar went up. Then when we opened the door and smelled the stench of cigarette smoke, we knew this wasn't going to work out. The front desk clerk tried to be helpful and gave us an upstairs room to try instead but it looked and smelled like a Law & Order crime scene. He then said he could let us out of our reservation. We drove to the La Quinta down the orad, found a lovely room and went back to the Red Roof to sign out. The friendly clerk, however, was no where to be found. The lobby was empty except for another angry guest who had been waiting for someone to check her in for about five minutes, After another five minutes, the clerk finally emerged from the bathroom. He checked her in and let me out of my reservation. Glad to be out of there!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for, good food location

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Got there late Friday evening with my family check in and had problem with getting in my room 150 door lock damage then went to take a shower no shower curtains !! Still took a shower. We complain the next day about the shower curtains and the drainage.. shower curtains was taken care of but drainage system is a maintenance problem So I place a plastic cup so the water could go down .... would I stay there again NO my first impressions mean a lot ...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good value for the price.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The room was clean and the staff was courteous.
Cons: Maybe a continental breakfast would be good. However, having McDonalds next door solved that issue.
Location: Great location. Close to everything we wanted to do.
Not sure what to expect after reading some of the internet reviews. However, we went with the name recognition and was surprisingly pleased. The room was very clean and looked newly renovated. The bathroom was very small but served the purpose. A little noisy at night but what do you expect when people are on vacation. We were so tired we slept through the noise. Overall not just pleased but very pleased and will definitely stay there again next year.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM, USA

HORRENDOUSLY POOR CUSTOMER "SERVICE"!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything. Because of this poor experience, I will never stay at this or any other Red Roof Inn ever again.
Our flight to Harrisburg was unavoidably delayed due to tornadoes. As a courtesy, I called the hotel over 24 hours in advance to inform them that we would only be staying the second of the two nights we had booked. They said, "Too bad, we're charging you anyway for the full amount of the first night. THEY BASICALLY STOLE OUR MONEY, despite advance notice and a courtesy call. They were rude about it too. Therefore, we cancelled the second night and took our business elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C, Westchester, NY

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
I'm really impressed with our hotel experience, we made the reservation last minute the night staff gentleman was very patient and welcoming.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Nice hotel Close to highway, food and shopping, needed a place to stay when visiting Hershey Park less than 20 min away!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok for overnight stay

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Ok for overnight stay did not spend longer than that
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017
The place was nice and clean. They let us check in hours before 3 PM. There are a lot of restaurants near by. The staff was very nice. I would stay in red roof again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Hotel is close to restaurants and stores/mall

Posted Jun 29, 2017
I like that the hotel is very close to restaurants and stores. It wasn't too far neither from Hersheypark which was a good thing since that's the reason why we stayed here. However, I think the outside needs a little bit TLC. The room we were in needed a little bit more vacuuming but otherwise no other complaints. We didn't stay much inside the hotel anyways. I got my room through expedia and it was on sale however, it didn't specify that the room we were in didn't have a fridge or microwave. I didn't even bother checking that coz I thought that those are basic amenities. Now, I know better. So just a heads up to those who want to stay here. Not all rooms have fridge or microwave...