Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Disappointed

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The staff was pleasant and very accommodating. The hotel lobby and elevators had an old world charm.
Cons: The hallways and rooms need to be updated. New carpet, new paint, maybe a good cleaning. New televisions in rooms as well as refrigerators.
Location: We walked around the area and did not find much of anything. Few shops and restaurants. A lot of closed up businesses and boarded up buildings.
The old world charm of first entering the hotel was wonderful and the staff was friendly and accommodating. We were even given an actual key for our room. The old style elevators added to the charm of the hotel. However, I don't think that a good cleaning and an update of the rooms would take away from the atmosphere. The carpets in the hallways and our room were dirty and stained. The chairs in the room were stained. The drapes were falling off the window and hung over the air conditioner. The TV was an old 24" box television. There was no refrigerator (but they did bring us one at our request for an additional charge). The bathroom was small and the tub, walls and floor needed either a good scrubbing or needed to be replaced. There was mold on the shower walls. The need for more outlets is a must in this day of electronics. But, if you could get past the outdated unclean room, it was a good size room, and it had a iron, ironing board, hair dryer, a good sized closet and a very comfortable king size bed. As far as parking, the parking garage at the hotel was not in use and parking was across the street in a parking garage, which we were told was free, but if we left and came back we would be charged. It is kind of hard not to use your vehicle since it takes anywhere from 45 minutes to 1 1/2 hours to get a taxi and we were told not to walk the streets after dark. This could be a wonderful hotel with some major renovations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business Trip

Posted Aug 26, 2016
This was an overnight stay for business and was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
A reasonably good middle of the road hotel for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: In a good location in town
Cons: Rooms need an update and fridges in them
Location: Revolution games are within walking distance and bars near by
We had a mini vacation to York we stayed at Yorktowne before we went to a revs game and we can walk from hotel to stadium in the matter of like 10 minutes very close which is great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old Hotel Historic downtown

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Cons: TV, height of toilets.
We enjoyed our stay at the Yorktowne Hotel. It was walking distance to the Central Market, craft shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world charm!

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Very friendly & inviting! Like walking into one of those fabulous hotels in the old black & white movies! I'll definitely be staying there again 😄
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We had a very nice stay at the hotel.

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Hotel was most convenient for our stay. We were there for a swim meet which was held less than a mile from the hotel. Breakfast was served starting at 6 am, so we could have a nice breakfast every day and the food was delicious and at a very reasonable price. We found the room comfortable. My only disappointment was the TV in the room. It was small and the remote didn't work correctly. We would stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic find

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: Terrific location and old world charm. A welcome change from those soulless chain hotels!
Cons: Grab bars are needed in the bathroom tub/shower
A wonderful non-chain historic hotel in downtown York. A bit shabby around the edges perhaps, but our room was clean and spacious and even included a mini-kitchen. Impressive lobby, friendly staff, even free street parking on the weekend. We were delighted to find the Yorktowne and hope to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Beautifully Historic

Posted Feb 25, 2016
This place was like stepping into a movie. It was so poetic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2016
It old and dated because it is a historic building which I loved. Biggest bed I've ever seen. Restaurant in hotel had horrible breakfast service but drinks at the bar were better. Could use better tvs.