Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WIll be back after they renovate

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
We were there the weekend before they closed to renovate. The room was still very clean and comfortable. The staff were great. We'll be back when they reopen in 2018!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely clean and historic

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely clean and historic. Great views.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun, historic, large room

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
It is a wonderful old historic hotel. We wanted to spend the night before they closed for major renovations. We had a really good time
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Style hotel with Charm

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great location in the middle of York. The hotel is closing for renovation soon, so maybe moot until they reopen.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
peeling paint in hallways, wallpaper separating from walls, apparently mothballed rooms on floor with no doorknobs ...kind of a scary place
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Disappointed

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The staff was pleasant and very accommodating. The hotel lobby and elevators had an old world charm.
Cons: The hallways and rooms need to be updated. New carpet, new paint, maybe a good cleaning. New televisions in rooms as well as refrigerators.
Location: We walked around the area and did not find much of anything. Few shops and restaurants. A lot of closed up businesses and boarded up buildings.
The old world charm of first entering the hotel was wonderful and the staff was friendly and accommodating. We were even given an actual key for our room. The old style elevators added to the charm of the hotel. However, I don't think that a good cleaning and an update of the rooms would take away from the atmosphere. The carpets in the hallways and our room were dirty and stained. The chairs in the room were stained. The drapes were falling off the window and hung over the air conditioner. The TV was an old 24" box television. There was no refrigerator (but they did bring us one at our request for an additional charge). The bathroom was small and the tub, walls and floor needed either a good scrubbing or needed to be replaced. There was mold on the shower walls. The need for more outlets is a must in this day of electronics. But, if you could get past the outdated unclean room, it was a good size room, and it had a iron, ironing board, hair dryer, a good sized closet and a very comfortable king size bed. As far as parking, the parking garage at the hotel was not in use and parking was across the street in a parking garage, which we were told was free, but if we left and came back we would be charged. It is kind of hard not to use your vehicle since it takes anywhere from 45 minutes to 1 1/2 hours to get a taxi and we were told not to walk the streets after dark. This could be a wonderful hotel with some major renovations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Historic Hotel in interesting town

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
There is parking on the opposite side of the street shortly before the hotel loading zone so if you do not have much luggage you may as well park first. Otherwise you will need to drive around the block to reach the parking (which is free on weekends). This is a historic hotel with a lovely lobby and interesting history. The room was a modest size. It was dark and hard to open the curtains wide. The view of the architecture of the courthouse was good once you got past the curtains. For some reason the bathroom sink was in a room separate from the bathroom. There is a bar and restaurant on the ground floor and an interesting, walkable neighborhood.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lynchburg VA

Fading, but a York Institution

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed at the Yorktowne for labor day weekend. The lobby was gorgeous and the room was nice, but dated. Still, I enjoyed my stay