Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Disappointed

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The staff was pleasant and very accommodating. The hotel lobby and elevators had an old world charm.
Cons: The hallways and rooms need to be updated. New carpet, new paint, maybe a good cleaning. New televisions in rooms as well as refrigerators.
Location: We walked around the area and did not find much of anything. Few shops and restaurants. A lot of closed up businesses and boarded up buildings.
The old world charm of first entering the hotel was wonderful and the staff was friendly and accommodating. We were even given an actual key for our room. The old style elevators added to the charm of the hotel. However, I don't think that a good cleaning and an update of the rooms would take away from the atmosphere. The carpets in the hallways and our room were dirty and stained. The chairs in the room were stained. The drapes were falling off the window and hung over the air conditioner. The TV was an old 24" box television. There was no refrigerator (but they did bring us one at our request for an additional charge). The bathroom was small and the tub, walls and floor needed either a good scrubbing or needed to be replaced. There was mold on the shower walls. The need for more outlets is a must in this day of electronics. But, if you could get past the outdated unclean room, it was a good size room, and it had a iron, ironing board, hair dryer, a good sized closet and a very comfortable king size bed. As far as parking, the parking garage at the hotel was not in use and parking was across the street in a parking garage, which we were told was free, but if we left and came back we would be charged. It is kind of hard not to use your vehicle since it takes anywhere from 45 minutes to 1 1/2 hours to get a taxi and we were told not to walk the streets after dark. This could be a wonderful hotel with some major renovations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lynchburg VA

Fading, but a York Institution

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed at the Yorktowne for labor day weekend. The lobby was gorgeous and the room was nice, but dated. Still, I enjoyed my stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
My fiancé and I seen pictures online, and already knew it was going to be beautiful. But, it was much prettier than the pictures. From the moment we pulled up to the moment we opened our room door we were in awe. The staff is certainly friendly. And the price was perfect. Honestly we felt it was rather cheap with all the history and beauty of this hotel. We will definitely stay at the Yorktowne Hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business Trip

Posted Aug 26, 2016
This was an overnight stay for business and was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
A reasonably good middle of the road hotel for the price.
3 out of 5
by Carol from Tennessee

Cool ambiance but unkept.

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is unkept. Very cool ambiance because of historical aspect but that's it!
4 out of 5
by Ralph from Pennsylvania

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Classic old structure with tremendous history. Room was well appointed, but a bit aged. Lobby was splendid and classy, but straining under a century of history. Exercise room was disgraceful with poorly functioning equipment and a ceiling slowly collapsing onto the floor, but no functional air conditioning. Restaurant was reasonable priced and staff was friendly, but service was slow. Parking was free on this weekend, but was across the street and not easily accessible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Carpeting in the room was stained in many obvious places. So was the couch. The wallpaper looked like it had been placed by a child. The hallway smelled like someone covered up fresh paint with a taxi air freshener. The people were nice, and the lobby is as well, but it was clear that nobody has spent a penny on this hotel in a long time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from somerset

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: In a good location in town
Cons: Rooms need an update and fridges in them
Location: Revolution games are within walking distance and bars near by
We had a mini vacation to York we stayed at Yorktowne before we went to a revs game and we can walk from hotel to stadium in the matter of like 10 minutes very close which is great
1 out of 5
by Scott from Ohio

I should have slept in my car.

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
The heyday of this place has long since past. If you like the 30s and 40s this is your place. The bed was well past it's prime and was not comfortable at all. Holes in the walls and doors that I am not sure were real secure. This place needs a complete rework.