Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice close to PA Turnpike

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Fast check in. Very friendly staff. Only concern shower in bath needed fixed
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Nathan J (Front Office Manager), Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know how your stay with us. We're sorry there were issues with the shower. We'll look into that. Have a great day and thanks again for letting us know.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shower Tub was not working great.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Good location
Cons: Bathroom shower, swimming pool, hot tub. Breakfast area was too small, had to take food to room.
The bathroom had no vent, shower control was very loose. I missed home for a comfortable shower. Sad to feel this way on vaca... Swimming pool was so chlorinated Water on hot tub was just warm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Nathan J (Front Office Manager), Hotel Management
Hello. Thank you for letting us know how your stay with us was. We will be looking into and addressing any and all issues you may have had. We're very sorry to hear about your stay. We hope you have a great day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was pretty good
Cons: just overall seemed dingy
Location: Farmers Market was pretty cool, outlet mall was relatively close 11 minutes along with Hershey Park and Stadium.
pull out sofa had makeup on the pillow cases, so this tells me the sheets were not changed. reservation said double room 2 double beds, but it was just a long room with a tiny fridge and a 1 cup coffee maker.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Nathan J (Front Office Manager), Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We will be looking into and addressing any and all issue you may have had. Double room, meaning 2 double beds, sorry for the confusion. We do hope you enjoy the rest of your summer vacation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

OK

Posted Jun 6, 2016
The hotel was good and the lady that welcomed me in at 1AM was wonderful. However, the bed was completely worn out and the gentleman running the counter the next morning was less than cordial. My overall stay was pleasant, but next year I will try a new place. Not bad, not great, but it was okay...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2016 by Nathan J (Front Office Manager), Hotel Management
Hello Dennis. Our staff here takes great pride in the customer service that we do provide so I'll have to look into the guest agent who worked in tha morning. Sorry about that. We do wish you well with your new place that you try. Best of wishes
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Hotel was decent. Sink drain cloged, coffee pot was dirty inside, bedside table was not clean. Rest of room was clean. Bed comfortable. Continental breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2016 by NJ, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time and writing us a review. We are sorry to hear about the sink and coffee pot as well as the nightstand. Thank you for choosing Wingate Inn
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Front Desk Staff
Cons: The rooms need updating. An electrical outlet in my room looked like putty had been put around the plate and painted over with no sanding.
Location: Not familiar
Although the hotel was right off the freeway, it was set back off the road with a VERY small sign that was challenging to see at night. We road pass the sign twice before seeing it. The front desk staff was GREAT!!!! The room was not clean. I thought about checking out but didn't want to go thru the trouble of trying to find another location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Nathan J (Front Office Manager), Hotel Management
We're so sorry to hear this! We would have liked to correct the issue, next time let us know so we can take care of you. Sorry about that. We hope you have a great week.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Extremely comfortable, clean

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Great night's sleep, clean, hot tub and pool a delight, excellent breakfast. Desk service was severely lacking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Nathan J (Front Office Manager), Hotel Management
Desk service is one we get great reviews on due to our staff taking great pride in the customer service we provide, I will be looking into this issue and taking action. Have a great day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2015
One problem we experienced was the lack of curtains in our window; it only had translucent sheers. As a consequence the outside parking lot lights created an all night "early morning" glow in our room .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Nathan J (Front Office Manager), Hotel Management
I'm so sorry to hear this, did you call the front desk? We could have pointed you in the right direction, behind the translucent sheers are black out ones, you just reach behind and there you go no lights for the nights. Hope you have a great weekend, thanks for letting us know how your stay with us was.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2015
The hotel is in good condition. Staff was friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Nathan J (Front Office Manager), Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know how your stay with us was. Have a great summer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pleasant experience. All personell were very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2016 by Nathan J (Front Office Manager), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope you're having a great summer.