Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Bernard from Klerksdorp

Okay for overnight stay

Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is right next to N3, some 20km out of Harrismith. Very busy at night, especially buses who stop at the food courts next to the hotel. The shower was mouldy, eventhough they accommodated us after our booking was not sent through to them.
5 out of 5
by Rina from Centurion

Friendly service

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed at this hotel on our way down to the coast as a mid-point stay over. This is the second year in a row that we have opted to stay here and we would definitely do it again. The hotel is nice and clean, the staff is so friendly and helpful. I can recommend it with ease.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

A motorway hotel but very quiet

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Pros: It is very well located
Cons: Water supply but that's not really their issue!
Location: We were en route from Joburg to the Drakensburg Mountains so it was nicely situated to break the journey. Would also apply to Joburg to Durban.
Staff were unaware of our booking for our first stay but dealt with this situation extremely well and quickly. Room slightly less than perfectly clean but comfortable and the staff were outstanding. Mugg and Bean next door is a full restaurant not as the name suggests a coffee shop.
5 out of 5
by Jacques

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Not Provided

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
Disappointing not to have a shower
4 out of 5
by marlene from Klerksdorp

Bad service from Hotels.com!!

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
When we arrived at the hotel there was a problem with our booking. The operator at Hotels.com did not send our booking through to Montrose Hotel. The person at reception did not even know about the booking. Luckily they had a room open (the only room). I was very disappointed with your service!! I was just very glad that they had a room available because it would be a big problem if they were fully booked. I will never use your service again or recommend Hotels.com to other companies. Until this very moment I did not receive your confirmation of booking email, although I phoned several times asking for it. Bad bad bad!!!
3 out of 5
by Carol from Texas

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Just a highway hotel, but good service except not enough hot water at the time we visited.
3 out of 5
by Mathew from Harare

Pleasant stay

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay, it was very pleasant, convenient and comfortable. If i had to complain about anything it would be that the showers were, albeit a great pressure, Luke warm! In a place that I can only assume is generally quite cold a hot shower would have been a welcome relief from the chilly weather. Room was very comfortable, towels and bedding were crisp and fresh.
5 out of 5
by a

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
it was great
3 out of 5
by mr d from ds999, margate, kent. uk

Good location for drakensberg and royal natal NP

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
Easy to find on service area but gps didn't recognise Montrose (it liked Swinburne where it actually is!) friendly helpful check in open log fire in lobby big room everything worked though heating took a few mins to operate. Good mugg and bean full service restaurant inc wine open until 21.00. Stayed second night as great position for visiting drakensberg and royal natal NP