Ratings based on 945 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for a stay in Newark

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Not much. Diner about three blocks away.
The room was huge. Bed is comfortable. Room and corridors were clean. Chair fabric had a stain. Windows overlooked the street, unfortunately curtains could not be drawn closed. Breakfast had wide choice generally good. Staff very helpful. Shuttle convenient to Newark Penn Station. You could also walk it in 15-20 minutes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brooklyn, NY

Not pleasant

Posted Sep 19, 2016
I reserved a king size bed for my husband and I we got two full beds. They changed us to a king size room that smelled like someone smoked a whole pack of cigarettes. When j called front desk someone said they'll send someone to help me. No one ever came. I call back a new guy tells me there's nothing he can do for me bc all the rooms were sold out even after I told him my husband has asthma and I've gotten a severe headache from the smell being that we are non smokers we could not get use to the smell. My husband ended up spraying his cologne all over the room so we could sleep. Will never stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good overall, could improve some things

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Good overall, staff friendly at check in. Room set on lowest temp and still hot. Nice idea to have a pool, but was not kept clean-very cloudy, couldn't see the bottom, didnt appear to have been cleaned or had chlorine used in quite some time. Disappointed as kids wanted to swim and it looked as if it were brewing bacteria in it. Great to have breakfast included but wasn't great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hoofddorp (NL)

Friendly, friendly and friendly

Posted Sep 11, 2016
At the end of our trip we ended up in this hotel close to New York City. As most hotels more or less offer the same the big question for most hotels is how you can create a notable difference. We think that the answer in this hotel is found in the way the staff treats you and this is friendly, friendly and friendly. We had a wonderful time here in this hotel. If you want to travel to Manhattan they will drop you off at the train station and from there it is only 30 minutes to the World Trade Centre (Oculus). If you go back before 11 pm they will pick you up again. So yes we would definitely consider staying here again and yes we would recommend this hotel to you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great shuttle service.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Location and cost. Great hot breakfast.
Great overall stay and helpful staff. We used the free shuttle to get to Penn station and zip to Manhattan every day with great ease. Would recommend this to people interested in NYC.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2016
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas


Posted Aug 23, 2016
Great hotel. Clean room, good breakfast. Nice location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice overnight stay

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: The pool was super nice but crowded. Beds were very comfortable too.
Cons: Pretty much done what they can with a downtown hotel.
Location: Newark is not the most beautiful and welcome city, but Ironbound restaurants, the science museum (Jersey city) and ofcourse the Redbulls are awesome!
The hotel was a treat, actually an unexpected gem in downtown Newark. It is close to everything, Tops Diner, RedBull Stadium and other Newark activities. We had a really nice stay and slept like rocks.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Osaka

Small luxuries a welcome relief

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Spent 15% more to stay at the Hampton rather than the Best Westerns I usually stay at after long flights. The room was clean and roomy and the bed was luxurious and the sheets were crisply made. Perhaps the only minor complaint would be not knowing the shuttle bus for this hotel stops at 11 pm (the other Hampton Elizabeth still had a bus at 12:15.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC


Posted Aug 6, 2016
Staff are nice. Breakfast is good. Room is spacious.