Ratings based on 1,121 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

very courteous profeesional staff

Posted Dec 4, 2017
very courteous profeesional staff. They took great care of us
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If you are not staying in Manhattan

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Large rooms with microwave and fridge. Free parking
Cons: More frequent shuttles.
Location: Not far from Newark Penn station. Wish there were benches to sit on while waiting for the shuttle.
Our second short stay on trip when we went into Manhattan daily. The rooms were spacious, clean, with a microwave and refrigerator.. Kept clean daily. Breakfast was more than adequate having aside from muffins, begels and waffles, also egs and two rotating proteins including bacon, sausage, omelette etc. Free drinks and snacks during Happy hour Thursdays. Cookies in the lobby. Parking is FREE. My only gripe is the shuttle to Newark Penn Station. You can catch it in the mornings as it runs on schedule. But coming home is hit or miss. It’s a 15 minute walk next to a busy road, or you may have to wait 30-45 minutes based on traffic and the needs of other hotel guests. Half the time we walked it, but I wouldn’t recommend it if the weather is unfavorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Nice Hotel, Overzealous Housekeepers

Posted Dec 3, 2017
My family and I stayed here to attend a concert at the Prudential Center. The hotel is very convenient (1.5 miles away) and an excellent bargain compared to other hotels in the area. The rooms were very clean, and the beds comfortable. There is free parking (most of the other hotels in the area charge 20 bucks a night) and a free breakfast buffet (eggs, bacon, waffles, cereal, etc). There is also an excellent diner called Tops just a half mile down the road, where my family and I enjoyed an awesome dinner. The only reason I don't give this place five stars across the board is because of the fact that housekeeping was knocking on the door at 8 AM to clean the room. Checkout time isn't until noon, and there is no reason to be waking people up that early. I would definitely stay here again, but I would address the housekeeping issue with management upon check-in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newark, NJ

Accommodating staff and good location.

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Shuttle running later.
Location: Catch the train 4 miles away and hit Manhattan.
We had a good experience with this hotel. The staff was very helpful. I wish the shuttle went a bit later for those seeing shows in the city. Check out Topp's Diner down the road...definitely worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really great!

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Room was spacious and cozy
Location: Near Newark airport and Newark Penn Train Station, also near Manhattan..
Everything was good. Hotel shuttle to airport/train station is really nice. My room was clean and cozy. The hotel staff helped me schedule transportation to Manhattan. When I called in the week before my stay, the hotel staff helped me figure out what trains I would need to take to get into Manhattan also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Hotel close to everything.....

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Stayed here for 3 days. Hotel is located in a convince place close to everything. Staff were very pleasant and attentive. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Great place to stay

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Visiting for a reunion and had a super stay at this hotel. Close to NYC and has a shuttle to and from Newark Int. Airport. Clean hotel with great staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to the city

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Stayed here for the convenience of traveling to NYC. It was perfect. Staff pleasant and helpful. Clean room. Quiet. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sherwood, AR

Great hotel close to train

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Location: Short 5 minute shuttle ride to Penn station.
Had a great experience here at this Hampton. Front desk staff was very helpful for us. This was our first time in New Jersey/New York area and they provided helpful info to assist us. Staff was friendly and professional. The free shuttle service was a great bonus. Was able to be dropped off and picked up from Penn Station with no issues at all. The free breakfast was very good. Plenty of hot and cold items to choose from to get your day started. If we ever visit this area again, we would stay here again for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh scotland

Hampton inn &suites newark Harrison River walk

Posted Sep 18, 2017
We enjoyed our stay.staff were friendly. Would Recommend the hotel to any one.