Ratings based on 1,077 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to the city

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Stayed here for the convenience of traveling to NYC. It was perfect. Staff pleasant and helpful. Clean room. Quiet. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sherwood, AR

Great hotel close to train

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Location: Short 5 minute shuttle ride to Penn station.
Had a great experience here at this Hampton. Front desk staff was very helpful for us. This was our first time in New Jersey/New York area and they provided helpful info to assist us. Staff was friendly and professional. The free shuttle service was a great bonus. Was able to be dropped off and picked up from Penn Station with no issues at all. The free breakfast was very good. Plenty of hot and cold items to choose from to get your day started. If we ever visit this area again, we would stay here again for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh scotland

Hampton inn &suites newark Harrison River walk

Posted Sep 18, 2017
We enjoyed our stay.staff were friendly. Would Recommend the hotel to any one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Great hotel. Nice location by the river walk. Room was nice. Bath was a bit aged but functional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesotan

Nice close to train station

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Clean,friendly staff, free transportation to train station...really good breakfast...close to everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Comfortable reasonable clean hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Very friendly accommodating staff. Great service
Cons: Update the rooms, use real dishes for breakfast service
Location: In Harrison, small town outside Newark. 3 good restaurants to check out - Tops Diner (yes, diner, but great); LaFiamma Italian; & Spanish Pavilion
We chose this hotel due to it's easy access to NYC. Also the "River-walk" intrigued us. Upon arrival we were disappointed about the location. Didn't appear to be a great part of town & the river walk really wasn't anything & the hotel was "dated". However after checking in & meeting we found the staff very friendly & helpful. Recommended some restaurants which did not disappoint & their great shuttle service allayed any of our concerns about walking out at night. Close to Penn station with easy to NYC -shuttle driver took us to & from. Our room was comfortable & clean . Breakfast was adequate. But again, can't stress enough the great service. Special thanks to Edgar & Brittany at the front desk & to the shuttle drivers!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Facilities were not usable. Overcrowded and dirty

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Chose this hotel for the pool. Guests turned the pool into a house party. Over crowded, loud music, people even swinging from the handicapped swim chair. Not an environment where I would let my kids swim. At breakfast, there was syrup all over the floor, spread around with a mop, but not cleaned up. My kids ended up with syrup between their feet and their sandals. Gross. Front desk didn't care about either situation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Clean and comfortable

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Indoor pool, workout room, breakfast
Location: Close to Red Bull Arena
I stayed here for one night recently with my three children. We had tickets to see a Red Bulls soccer game on our way to Pennsylvania. We weren't looking for frills- just needed a reasonably-priced place to stay for the night. The hotel is clean and comfortable. There is free parking in the lot. My kids enjoyed the indoor pool and I used the workout room. There is a free breakfast included, which was good. The dining room was a bit crowded but it was fine. The hotel is within walking distance of Red Bull Arena which is exactly what we were looking for. I'd stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton, FL

An oasis

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: New, clean and soft bedding.
Cons: Nothing
Location: I was driving to Lake Placid. It is located in a very beautiful area of New York and not far from the city.
Driving late at night, I asked Suri to find the closest Hampton Inn. I knew that no matter what I would have a nice soft bed and a spotless hotel. True to form, another wonderful Hampton Inn. I was so thankful there was room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville Tn

Nice location.

Posted Aug 1, 2017
The staff were wonderful. Pool was exceptionally clean. Breakfast was great. Rooms were really clean.