Ratings based on 465 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Not too bad. The front guy is friendly, but one of the bed is not clean.Fridge is noisy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Needs attention

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Lobby needs serious attention & repair. Waited 10 minutes for staff to arrive at front desk. Initial staff member was under influence of some subtance difficulty processing check in in every aspect. Room clean but very tired & needs sprucing up. Facility close to event was attending, cost reasonable. Check out staff pleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Uncomfortable

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Cons: clean it and e aware of the odors.
Location: Fairly close to JMU
The hotel was not very clean and smelled of old smoke and marijuana. The room was dirty and the blankets had cigarette holes in it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond VA

Smell

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Close to JMU
Cons: Make it a fully non-smoking hotel. Purchase all new linens and wash the walls down to clean it up.
Location: Plenty of restaurants in general area and really close to JMU campus
Though my room was not a smoking room, evidently every other room on the hall was. The smell was not pleasing to say the least. Staff were nice but the hotel was run down and could use some updating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hobson,tx

lack of cleanliness

Posted Oct 23, 2017
the room had a definite odor of mold in the bath room and elsewhere. The bath ceiling had been patched and e patch was falling off. a definite lack of upkeep and maintenance. there is a definite need for a good coat of paint. Overall a disappointing stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrisonburg, VA

Cheap everything, except the price.

Posted Oct 4, 2017
I stayed only one night...thank goodness. Room was noisey, toilet was not safe(loose), the handle to the shower was about to fall off, refrigerator was very loud, light fixture next to the bed was flopping around, the hallway to the room stunk, and last but not least the lock on the door wasn't functional so we had to use a chair placed against the door for security. The desk representative was not helpful, or pleasant. I stayed there for a hunting trip in the area, I will never stay in another Super8. It would be great if Expedia refunded a portion of my stay, this experience reflects poorly on your company as well. I recommend you visit the hotels you offer in the future. This is the first time I used Expedia and maybe the last! Thanks for listening.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Hotel was as expected for the price range in comparison to others in the area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chantilly, VA

Disgusting and smelled worse then looked

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Destroy rooms and remodel, install new air conditioners.
Location: Not as close to JMU as expected.
Front desk was nice but room was disgusting and smelled horrible. Everything was mildew and stink, would never stay here again, even if free. Even air conditioners let out terrible odors.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Strictly average and noisy

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Very close to street and to noise. Not much room to room noise. Bathroom v. Clean and newer than the rest of room, which had some modern but worn decoration. AC ventilator \heater was noisy and adjusting not too precise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gainesville,georgia

Peaceful easy feeling

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Update security
Rainy day, annual event in town..was able to just get a room and it was ok to stay..