Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Beautiful gardens historic location

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Gardens, historic location, comfortable bed.
Cons: I was a little disappointed to be in a separate, and new building. While the room was modern and pleasant, it didn't have a bath.
Location: Setting is gorgeous, but you really need a car. There are a couple of nice pubs within walking distance, but that's about it.
Beautiful gardens and main building of historic significance. Pleasant, helpful staff, especially Rhyse and the room cleaners.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, well located for business

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Location, garden and balcony
Cons: It is showing its age and could do with a refresh
Location: Very well located for my business needs.
Visited on business. Staff pleasant, welcoming and efficient. Room comfortable, spotless and with all necessary attributes for a travelling business person.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Lovely Stay

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Stayed at the Grimsdyke for a family event. All the staff we came into contact with were lovely. The room was just what we needed (garden lodge) and we were pleased to be able to take the dogs. The grounds were beautiful and a pleasure to walk around. Negatives: some areas of the hotel were a bit worn. Luckily the weather was great so we could sit on the terrace - otherwise the dogs weren't allowed in the bar, which was a shame. No waffles available at breakfast on the Sunday but was able to get them on the Monday. Shame they didn't do veggie sausages for a vegetarian cooked breakfast (the normal full English was delicious). Good choice of food but food and drinks were quite pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Beautiful hotel in lovely grounds

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Beautiful hotel set off the main road, up a long drive. We only saw reception and the dining room as we were in the garden lodges. Our room was very clean though a little tired in places. Stain on carpet and signs of wear in bathroom but it was spotless and clean and had ac which is good as it was very warm. Lovely gardens too and nice and quiet. Room had a fridge, with usual tea and coffee making facilities with the added touch of a cafetière, bottled water and lovely biscuits. We paid £56 for a doube room which was a good size and there was lots of parking. We didnt eat there as there are lots of restaurants down the road that are a better price and variety. Would definitely stay here again if we get the same room price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Nice place

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Room comfortable. Good to have cafetiere in room
Quick stop over so didn't get a chance to stroll through the lovely gardens etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

should have been for Adele

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: good old building with a lot to view
Cons: staff language a problem and service at breakfast
Location: N/A
no refund available for Hotel so had a day in London first time ever
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angelez

Nice hotel on lovely grounds

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. A little disappointed we stay in the actual hotel, but a more modern annex. Room was very nice though. There are only 9 rooms in the actual hotel. The rest are in an annex detached from the main building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Beautiful countryside style hotel, nice room, lovely garden, great food. Enjoyed our stay a lot even on a rainy day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Good place for London,really quiet no traffic,annexe rooms no noise from any functions