Ratings based on 469 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Nice and clean room. Friendly staff. Most important I could have dog with me. The best dog friendly hotel I have stayed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Good all round experience. Had a short but pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Check in was fast & convenient. The room was clean with the exception of a dirty spot on the bathroom wall & the chair in the room had tears/holes in the armrests
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island NY

Pup's first trip

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Good location, great amenities for the price (free parking, breakfast included).
Cons: It is a dog friendly hotel, the area for dog walking is ok but it needs to be tended a bit more. There was dog poop everywhere.
Location: Near highway, quite a few restaurants as options.
This is our first time trying a pet friendly hotel. Hawthorn Meriden is the only one I've found close enough to West Hartford, where I needed to travel to, that accommodates dogs at a great rate, free self parking and very reasonable fee for pet. The hotel stay includes daily continental breakfast which was a plus. The location is easily accessible via highways and near many restaurants. The room was surprising big and is located on the first floor for guests with pets, and easy access to outside. I would stay again at Hawthorn Meriden when I'm in town next time, with or without my dog.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel. Great price!

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Great last minute getaway for my husband and I. We brought our own food and cooked in the room. Amazingly romantic night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for the location

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
Common area rugs need to be cleaned or replaced. Rooms are spacious and great for longer stays since the have cooking facilities. Very helpful front desk staff. Construction crews seem to be using this as home base as they work in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Tokay&Donald

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The first two rooms smelled like smoke, the second one more than the first. And the think the person at the desk was just trying to see if, I would take the room,went back to the deck I was than gaving a room on the ground floor. Thank you. But the next morning the sink was overflowing by itself.😩I was than upgraded to a nice one bedroom room 230 thank you
Cons: The room smelled,the first room smelled like. Smoke, the second one more than the first. And the think the person at the deck., was just trying to see if I would take the room. Went back to deck . I was than giving a room on the ground floor thank you. But the next morning the sink was overflowing by itself. 😩I was than upgraded to a nice one bedroom room 230 thank you
Location: The location was good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Overall a good experience but all I needed was a place to sleep. Some of the furniture was damaged and there was no ice. Breakfast was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Good hotel in non-tourist area

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Safe location near major highway. The mini kitchen in the room. The complimentary breakfast with coffee around the clock. Great staff.
Cons: Replace the "easy chair" that has damaged arms. Provide a small night table on both sides of the bed.
Location: We were in the area for business purposes and to visit some family and friends. Needed accommodations with easy access to the highway.
Friendly welcome. Staff treats guests as if they know them. They are professional, friendly. and very accommodating to guest's needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great price, but a bit worn

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Location, kitchens in room.
Cons: Rugs in hallway need replacing; General cleaning needs to be done.
Location: Highway access
Who can complain about $98 a night? But you get what you pay for. Rugs need clearing, furniture in room a bit worn. Place needs to be "refreshed" as they say in the Hotel biz. That said, staff was great, location was great (near I-91 and CT15).