Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

nice for the price

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: price, location
Cons: The road leading up to the hotel is VERY dark, hotel is well lit. Bathtub felt small, needs exhaust fan
It was fine, breakfast good, young man who checked us in was great. Room: carpet had bumps in it, bathroom tub felt small, and it was slippery without even soaping up. bathroom needs an exhaust fan and it got too hot in there. bed was comfy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NEVER AGAIN HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The staff on duty were professional kind, but said they couldn't compensate me for their poor performance because I had booked through a third part
Cons: I paid what I thought was an above average price just for a place to sleep, but with expectations that the room would at least be clean and sanitary
Location: it was a convenient stop close to the highway
Although we have had a few not-so-pleasant stays over the years this was the absolute worst experience we have had with any hotel in more than 40 years of travel. Upon checking into the room and pulling down the bed sheets it was glaringly obvious that they had not been changed. Upon closer investigation we observed both body hair and blood or other dried body fluid spots (I took pictures to prove this but I will not share them on this review). In addition, the bathroom was also not cleaned to a respectable level; there was still soap scum on the sink and mold was visually evident around every orifice in the tub. My confidence in chain hotels is shot; from now on it's airbnb for us where the employees at least have a vested interest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Very Nice Staff

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Variety of chain restaurants and food offerings on the commercial strip nearby. There are fine restaurants in the area - Some are on back roads.
I arrived late at night and the desk clerk gave me two cartons of milk so I would not have to go to a 24 hour store...........The room was basically clean, but the shower needed updating - cracks. The shower was warm, not hot, even though I let it run and played around with it for awhile. The bed seemed very clean and was comfortable. Overall, it was a nice room. The breakfast offered a variety of cereal and hot items.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

It was handy.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: This is my third class in Southington at King 33. After the first stay, I came back. Your hotel is close to the facility.
Cons: (see above)
I have two relatively minor issues. First, there was a fairly strong scent of cleaner in the bathroom. A little use of the A/C cleared that up. The second was the misuse of gloves by the woman who was working in the breakfast area. ServSafe requires glove use to prevent bare skin contact with food that's ready to eat. It is not required for handling non-food items. I observed the staff person using the same gloves to replace the coffee carafes, replenish the coffee cups and lids, clean tables, and leave the breakfast area to perform another task. For glove use to be effective in avoiding food contamination, they should be changed when tasks change. Perhaps an inservice would be helpful. Unfortunately, I have seen this at many such breakfast areas. In my work as a nurse, I have seen staff who do not really understand why they're wearing gloves.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs updated and don't eat the eggs

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel needs updated. Location is okay. Service was fine. Breakfast was awful - never saw anyone serve brown scrambled eggs! The rooms are old and dated and not very clean. This place needs revamped. The worst Holiday Inn Express I ever stayed at
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Close to children nice hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
I have stayed here twice. First time I was given a discount. Second time they said it was available. Kind of made me upset that I could get it once but not the second time. I will stay again here because of the location to my daughter.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in need of new carpets throughout the common areas and the guest rooms. It generally needs a complete renovation. It is dingy and out of date compared to its competition.
4 out of 5
by Sarah from Stamford, CT

Great stay!

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Easy and fast check in! Close to shops and lake compounce. Great stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Nitin from India

comfortable stay

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
comfortable stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nitin, Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are very happy that your stay was comfortable. Looking forward to your next visit to the area. Warm Regards Nadine Mullings General Manager