Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Good place to stay after climbing Camel Back Mountain Drive down the hill and walk around Waterbury Nice little town
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

A Ok Hotel near Hospital.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Near major Highways and Hospital.
Cons: Safer parking and better breakfast.. The was nothing to eat before breakfast was to end or looked like they refill anything was was gone.
Location: Did not visit any.. But few blocks I did notice some late night places.
First impression was not so good.. Police on side street and parking looked not to safe due to group smoking weed right on the parking of the Hotel and Police on the side street of the parking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dingmans Ferry, PA

Nice hotel....in transition

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Room and staff were very good for the $$....right in the heart of downtown...plenty of places to walk to.... The Red Roof staff was still in the process of working out the switch from Holiday Inn...not that much of an issue... Room had no hot water, and constant running water in toilet...other than that, a nice night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hinsdale, nh

Ok visit

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Very loud and raucous staff meeting in the lobby when I arrived. Took way to long to check in. Night clerk and morning clerk were both wonderful. Housekeeping was rude when I asked where the ice machine was. They also woke us in the morning pounding on the door to ask if we needed more towels. Hotel was clean. Bed was uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Most centrally located, vertically oriented mhotel

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: Improved without increasing the price? I don't think so.
Location: I cannot imagine a more centrally located hotel. Restaurants, bars, clubs, train station, highways, museums are all walking distance.
The downtown Hartford Red Roof + is extremely well located within 2 blocks of many bars, clubs and restaurants. The train station is next door. There is still renovation work being done in some of the floors and the Capitol / Park view is magnificent, as is a walk in said park. This place feels like a motel but is located like a hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Convenient & Affordable

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The hotel was easy to access, near great sights and very convenient to bus services. I like my room because it was cozy, clean and had very good AC
Cons: The hotel needs to be air out especially the hallway. There is a strong odor of detergents that does smell good in the confined space.
Location: The State House is at the back of Russell's park across the street & they do free tours inside & Mark Twain & Harriet Stowe houses are up the block.
The hotel seems to be going through some updates so the rooms are nicely furnished and everything operate really well including the AC. However, there are a few things that still need to be perfected such as there is no greeting binder that informs you what time you need to check out - where the gym is located - what time is breakfast - location of restaurants - sight tours etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hartford Red Roof

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: The view & the location were great!
Cons: Air conditioning. It took forever for our room to get comfortable.
Location: It's in the heart of downtown with anything you could want to do nearby.
We got the room we asked for (capital view ) the place was sold out, but we heard no noise and didn't see many people. We arrived an hour before check in and it wasn't a problem. Check out was simple.
3 out of 5
by Susan from PA

Rooms inconsistent

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed here twice. The first time everything was very good. I like the wood floors in the rooms since they seem easier to keep clean than carpeting. The second time I ended up with a room without working electrical in the bathroom resulting in non-working hair dryer attached to the wall so it could not be plugged in elsewhere. The phone connection was spotty so sometimes I could get through to the front desk other times I could not even get a dial tone. The bathroom mirror was covered in graffiti and needs to be replaced. I will think twice before booking this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown Hartford

Posted Jun 28, 2016
I had the pleasure of staying at Red Roof in late June. My experience was fantastic overall. The staff are great, the hotel is clean & quiet (in spite of its downtown location). I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Hartford.
3 out of 5
by Jose from Hartford

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
Tried to change rooms after I checked in, from a single bed to double, even though they were available they "could not" accommodate, due that the reservation was done through a 3rd party. Too bad. Will not be using them again.