Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast freshly cooked which made a pleasant change from a buffet breakfast.
Location: Unfortunately not much to do nearby
Found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We had a couple of problems but nothing too major. We were in the bridal suite as we were late booking our stay and that was the only room available. Four poster bed very squeaky when you moved so interrupted sleep. Shower took a while to get warm in the evening but fine in the mornings. However, overall we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Pros: Food good and staff pleasant.
Cons: Bathroom a bit shabby and had no shelves. Glass door on bathroom not ideal.
Used the hotel for an overnight stay while visiting relatives in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent

Very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: The hotel's greatest asset must be the staff, they are welcoming and most helpful. The food is excellent, with the pork loin certainly worth trying.
Cons: Could do with a bit it of a refresh, not so that it loses its charm but so that things don't look as though they have seen better days. Erratic WiFi.
Location: Well placed for trips out to a wide variety of places. Both Durham and Newcastle are within easy reach.
Quiet location, but not so far off the beaten track to make it difficult to find or return to the town centre. The setting is delightful, with the hotel being very much in the 'old world' style of wooden panels and pictures of sailing ships, and this is certainly not a criticism. If you want somewhere quiet to stay then this is certainly well worth considering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Perth, Western Australia

Quirky converted manor house

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Food, stagg attitudes
Quirky converted manor house with unusual layout and some magnificent panelling. Excellent food and a friendly, heppful staff; Plenty of parking and lovely gtounds.
3 out of 5
by Jo from uk

Take a crash helmet!

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The staff were lovely, nothing was a bother, well mannered and happy! Great food!
Cons: The rooms need an update, glass door on the bathroom? Not a great idea!
The food here is excellent, the service was equally as good, smiley happy staff, however the standard of the room let this lovely hotel down! It was very dated, shabby (not chic!) and slightly grubby. We had a strange bed in our room that was supposed to look like a four poster, the posts at the foot end stopped at head height and unfortunately every time my husband walked past it he banged his head on it! The room was dark and depressing. Desperatly in need of an update and a good clean!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from Warwickshire

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: The willingness to change my room to give me the quietest room possible
Cons: Some of the decore seems a tad dated.
Location: Quiet, near the beach and the A19...just what I needed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice country hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: country atmosphere
Cons: bathrooms
Location: We went to Hartlepool and saw the town and a soccer match which we really enjoyed, also went to a large shopping outlet nearby enjoyed the area
Stayed for two nights, staff were very helpful and even though there was a wedding on one of the nights we had a peaceful sleep and heard no noise. The bathroom we had needed a bit of TLC but overall the room was comfortable. We enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ashlyn from England, UK

At least renovation is in process

Posted Apr 23, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: ok
Renovation in process, very much needed the cleanliness of public stairways and entrance poor very dusty dirty and dark.. Room 6 we stayed in was very dark and not that clean, behind desk was absolutely filthy, shower was appalling. Very limited facilities in bathroom and one large bath towel for a couple.If it was not for the staff, i would have rated this hotel less. Many rooms downstairs look like they have already been renovated and therefore much more pleasing. Breakfast was very nice, but sadly only one person serving so on arrival no fruit juice a few dirty tables meaning we had to sit at a table that was for 6 people. Once he arrived things were sorted however.