Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Favourite Place of our week

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: We were welcomed the moment we stepped in to the reception area. The Staff here really were exceptional and helpful. Will look forward to returning.
Cons: We only stayed one night but were impressed without a thought of any improvements.
Location: Located about 3 miles outside Hartlepool, where there has been a lot of regeneration. Plenty to do, lots of information available, without shopping.
What an amazing hotel. Beautifully renovated but retaining all it's character, including creaking floor boards one would expect of a building this age. Different floor levels which we assume are from when different parts of the building were added in the past. Truly charming. The facilities were very good and there was a lovely atmosphere about the place. The main salons were beautifully decorated and presented. The food was excellent served by efficient staff. The bar area was comfortable and had a relaxing atmosphere. The grounds were really well looked after and a joy to appreciate. We absolutely loved it and want to return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Lovely setting to front.poor outlook to rear

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Unfortunately shower difficult to operate and control fell off. Toilet roll holder loose, kept falling off. Lighting on stairwells poor. On the positive side food was excellent, staff were brilliant. Main reception areas lovely. Hotel manager very welcoming and friendly. Needs money spending on bedrooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
It was really good stay.... staff was really good.... food is wonderful and tasty.....
5 out of 5
by Roderick

Lovely old place

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Nice old hotel people were lovely and the food was fantastic
4 out of 5
by paul

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great traditional hotel steeped in history. Alan the owner was a great host and regaled me with the history of the hotel and its grounds. Will definitely be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Close to Seaton Carew Golf Club

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Comfortable room and good food.
Cons: It took me a while to find it (starting at a sister property 20 miles away), but I should have paid more attention to the location during my planning.
Location: Good access to Seaton Carew Golf Club, right outside of Hartlepool.
Very suitable for my next-day tee time at Seaton Carew Golf Club. Room was comfortable, restaurant was good both at dinner and breakfast. Staff was efficient and pleasant.
5 out of 5
by paul david mead

100% good hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
Give the small hotel a go it's is 100% well worth it
4 out of 5
by Stephen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Manor House, very comfortable and friendly.

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is older, comfortable, good food and excellent staff. The north east has a great reputation for friendliness and hospitality, this hotel has just that. Country location, very safe and quiet. Good touring base, although in the south of the NE region. Quite near Durham.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast freshly cooked which made a pleasant change from a buffet breakfast.
Location: Unfortunately not much to do nearby
Found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We had a couple of problems but nothing too major. We were in the bridal suite as we were late booking our stay and that was the only room available. Four poster bed very squeaky when you moved so interrupted sleep. Shower took a while to get warm in the evening but fine in the mornings. However, overall we enjoyed our stay.