Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Most prominent hotel on the Sea Front, Seaton Care

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Cost, situation, parking and staff.
Cons: Needs money spent on decor and improvements.
Location: ? not applicable. I have family contacts nearby.
Easy to find. Plenty of parking. Reception desk is just a table at the back of the entrance hall. No lift. Upstairs corridors old, narrow and poky. Only Yale lock on room door. Only one room key provided. General internal decoration of hotel very tired. Room very small as en suite but everything worked. Only 1 room chair, no room for another. Bathroom functional but previous repairs very obvious. Stalk very friendly and helpful. Dining room very reasonable size but very quiet. Table settings etc. good. Adequately variable menu and food better in quality, quantity and preparation than I had expected. I put bar and restaurant charges on account. Bill probably correct, certainly not overcharged. Total cost surprisingly reasonable. General impression. Old fashioned sea side hotel which had been only partly modernised. Clearly client throughput disappointing. Staff doing their best to compensate with some success. Bill handling procedures may need a tune up.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greater London

Hotel within 30 metres of beach

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of ALL staff, reception and restaurant. Easy access to beaches. Excellent food in hotel restaurants. Good choice menus
Cons: Due to age of hotel doubt that lifts could be installed that would be my only 'recommendation' if feasible.
Location: Alongside Seaton Carew beach. Ideal for young and old. Easy access by bus or car/taxi to nearby Hartlepool Marina inc Museums & shopping Centres
Last minute booking. Quiet at end of season. Ideal for those with a car. Less so for those without though plenty of Buses and Taxis at nearby Hartlepool Station. Local station also but infrequent services. This is a historic but old (in age) hotel so NOT really suitable for those who have difficulty in climbing stairs, though I'm sure that the friendly staff would help if need be. Within easy reach of Middlesbrough and Hartlepool football clubs and DURHAM TEES VALLEY AIRPORT ( relatively few planes so not a ' noise' problem)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant place to stay on seafront

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Position
Cons: Bathroom
Location: Good location with nature reserve and cities nearby.
Loved the sea view from my bedroom. The room was small, but the bed very comfortable and I slept very well. The bathroom was functional, but could do with some up-grading-a bit tired. Breakfast was good and the staff were very courteous offering good, friendly North-eastern service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The closest to Faulty Towers

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: the view and the staff
Cons: Spend some money using skilled trades men
Location: good
Not sure were to start, the hotel looks nice when you first see it and in a very nice position but when you get inside the truth comes out, it is in a time warp and needs major money spending on it to bring it up to the 3 star rating, it is well over priced for what it offers, Firstly when entering our room the curtain on the lefthand side of the window was hanging off, the room had a lovely view overlooking the sea but the windows were so dirty and paint splattered it spoiled it, the bath is dangerous, very slippy with no anti slip mat or hand hold, the taps had lime scale around the ends had not been cleaned for some time and the DIY man had put sealant around the bath in small strips. On arrival we were greeted with, we do not have a full menu tonight, it is the lunch time menu only. At breakfast, we asked for brown bread toast to be advised it had not been delivered. The worst criticism for me was that the WI FI did not work, as other guests also advised, so all in all a disaster.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Old fashioned struggling hotel.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: The friendly welcome. The separate bedroom for the children in the family room.
Cons: Updated décor. Sunday breakfast to run later than 9.30am. Tea served in a pot. A breakfast menu. Croissants as an option.
Location: Sea front hotel. Hartlepool museum is great.
Very friendly front of house staff - a warm welcome. Well worn fixtures and fittings. but adequate. Evening dinner on early bird/family deal was very limited in choice but cheap. Early breakfast times for a weekend, low cost breakfast options. Husbands hot food was never served. No discount for children.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hartlepool

Character full hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: The staff and service, the food and lovely views.
Cons: Small improvements to the cleanliness and tidyness of the gardens and rear of the hotel would be nice.
Location: A visit to St Hidas church and Hartlepool headland is a must.
Family visit to attend my daughters wedding. Staff were excellent, food lovely and views of the sea beautiful. Thanks especially to Angela and Sandra for their hard work to make our experience a happy event.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nederland

Hotel aan de kust

Posted Jun 9, 2016
Pros: Gelegen aan zee.
Cons: Hygiëne!!!!!!! Lees hierboven bij "mijn ervaring"
Location: Hotel aan zee. Grote gokhal op 5 minuten, 2 fish en chips op 5 minuten.
Eerst een kleine kamer met een breed bed. Gevraagd en gekregen grotere kamer met een smal bed. Ontzettend vieze lucht op de gang en in de kamer. Goed Engels ontbijt. Hygiëne in het hotel moet echt beter. Stoelen en banken in de bar versleten, vol met kruimels, kwakken mayonaise op de vloer, kruimels op de vloer. Ben benieuwd hoe de keuken er uit ziet, nou eigenlijk wil ik het niet weten. Schoonmaak moet echt beter. Onder- en zijkant van de toiletten in de kamers vol met urinespatten, aanhechtingen van de glazen doucheschermen met de muur vol met schimmel. In de hoeken van de hoge plafonds stof-/spinnenraggen. Douchekoppen nog nooit ontkalkt. Dit alles reflecteert de prijs uiteraard, maar toch, hygiëne is een must.
4 out of 5
by Gerard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gerard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by NIGEL

Very Poor Customer Service and don't eat there

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
I was ill all night after only eating at this hotel all day Mattress springs were felt through the sheets Dirty bathroom When checking out said about being ill and no comment was made