Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

A walking enthusiasts dream hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Check in and check out was fast. Staff were friendly and courteous.
Location: Close to many restaurants and shops.
The hotel was like a "bed and breakfast" except breakfast was extra. The room was nice and clean, with a balcony that had a great view of the castle on the hill. The bathroom was clean but small, typical of German hotels. We had a problem with wifi reception on the second day but they fixed it. Breakfast was the typical European buffet with lots of bread and smoked meats, eggs, etc. the hotel was walking distance to the pedestrian and shopping area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Didsbury, Manchester, G

HSB Railway

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Smashing hotel, close to Wernigerode or Westerntor stations. Breakfast good. Everywhere VERY clean. Pool area and steam room excellent.
5 out of 5
by Bryan from Australia

Wonderful stay

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely area, many resturants close. Castle views from our window. Slightly small ensuite. Walking distance to lovely old town. Easy access to Brocken steam train ride. We had a great time staying here, very German not a lot of English spoken.
5 out of 5
by Mr r from greater manchester

lovely hotel

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Off road parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great for a long weekend maybe not for business...

Posted Apr 16, 2015
With a major fair on in Hannover I was looking for an alternative out south east of Brauschweig with a pool. This hotel came up at a good price with a nice location easy to find. Although in the centre of the town it was quite. Unfortunately the restaurant in the hotel was closed but there were other possibilities in the town. The overall standard in the hotel was very good but the single room I had was quite small but the en suite bathroom was lovely and big.
5 out of 5
by paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Good location, helpful staff

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Relaxed atmosphere and location
Cons: Free wifi worked in some rooms but not ours, we could only access it from the small reception area
Hotel close to town centre in quiet location with great views of the castle from the dining room and our balcony. We dd not try the sauna nor pool. Staff in the hotel very helpful and spoke good English.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by amos from scotland

centrally placed hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: well placed for town centre
Cons: tea and coffee facilities in room
Location: HSB steam trains up the BROCKEN mountain, and Wernigerode castle well worth a visit.
hotel was well furnished. However no tea or coffee facilities in room. reception closes at 10pm. We contacted hotel to say our train to Wernigerode would not arrive from Koln until 10.20 PM I phoned hotel to advise late arrival but reception was closed. we had to find alternative accommodation for the Saturday evening. Expedia did not supply me with E mail address so I could confirm in writing. The hotel admitted error in failing to tell staff of our late arrival.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schlosspalais Review - Excellent

Posted Feb 21, 2013 on Hotels
The Schlosspalais hotel was conveniently located near the old town of Wernigerode. There was no restaurant in the hotel, but several within easy walking distance. The town square was equally close, from which one could take a "train" to the Wernigerode castle.