Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by john from Hertford, England

Lovely little hotel on the edge of the town

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
It was a nice hotel. Very quiet location and a bit fiddly to get to in a car - there's no other way unless you've cycled or walked. It does what a hotel should do. And the breakfast was OK.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Chester

Quiet Hotel in The Harz Mountains

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
A comfortable room - had a suite (401) which was spacious with a balcony. The hotel is geared to German visitors - not a bad thing - as we hardly heard an English voice all week! Some staff did speak English which was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Great place to stay peaceful & quiet, with plenty of eating places near by
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wernigerode an enchanting town

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful town in the Hertz region of Germany. Comfortable Hotel but lack of English brochures to enable you to determine the best things to visit during a short stay. Room comfortable with view of ski slopes and Forest are. Pillows too soft and only one given.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Peaceful setting, which was worth the 15 minute walk up a steep hill - kept us fit. Staff very friendly and pleasant. Very little English spoke, although there was a waitress called Lisa, who's English was excellent (our German was non-existent !!) and she was very helpful. Fabulous breakfast - better than the one we got in a four star hotel in Delft!. Would recommend booking a balcony room with view of the castle as it was lovely to look out on this view.
4 out of 5
by Guenter from Vancouver, Canada

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Hotels
the hotel offers all the amenities that a north american traveller expects. We stayed for 5 nights to be able to travel harz area so we used the hotel facilities only in the evening. We may have been in somewhat of an off season. It was quiet, buffet breakfast was diverse and plentiful. Be aware that the Schanzenhaus is outside the town on the Hill. Parking at the hotel was good but in town somewhat bothersome, so every day it meant a hike up and down the mountain. Good for conditioning. The hotel is flanked by three artificial turf ski jump Schanzen which were under repair when we stayed there.
3 out of 5
by Sue from Bath

Good base to view fanastic town of Wernigerode

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Nice view of castle with balcony but room itself reminded me of school trips to Germany . tiny with 2 single beds at an angle to each other. I think our room was smaller than most. It was lovely and peaceful, reception staff helpful and free wifi worked very well. A bit of a walk into town or drive in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice hotel; good price

Posted May 19, 2015
Nice hotel; simple, with all needed amenities, but don't expect anything luxurious. Room was clean, staff was friendly and did their best trying to speak English. The breakfast was absolutely great!!!! Only 10 minutes to the historical town....about 15 minute walk to castle. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Excellent breakfast. About 20mins walk to town.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
On hillside looking towards castle. Rooms small but very good. Clean rooms. Only downside is nothing is translated into english (menus etc only in german). Lovely walks in hills direct from hotel. Taxi from station only €9. Excellent free buses all over area. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels
Enjoyed our two days stay Restaurant xcel Go for it