Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
The premier hotel in the area. Breakfast buffett was tier 1.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel in the perfect location

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: The town itself is a charming place to stroll around, walk up to the castle for views and tour was well worth it.
Both comfortable and elegant, nice room and bathroom. Breakfast and spa were great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Right in the heart of the Alstadt made it for easy walking,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Allis,Wi

Great location

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Located next to the town square. Everything is within walking distance. Great breakfast
5 out of 5
by Christina from Frederick, Maryland (USA)

Beautiful Hotel in a picturous town (Wernigerode)

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for 3 nights during the "Annual Rathausfest" June 17-19, 2016. We stayed in a Suite towards the courtyard which was very nice and quiet, even though life music was on stage nearby the hotel. If time permits, I would recommend to also see Quedlinburg and Goslar, beautiful little towns nearby, during the stay.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Boston Spa

A Harz historical gem

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
This is a very historic hotel which has been tastefully restored. The furnishings and fittings are exceptional. Food and service excellent. Some rooms however have small 'dormer windows' so may feel dark to some. It is a pity that in such a quality hotel, coffee and tea cannot be provided in the room - maybe a 'german' quirk. For anyone wanting to explore the Harz, including the excellent steam railway, this is an ideal quality base.
5 out of 5
by Graham

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in the centre of this picturesque town

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Location: We particularly recommend the railway up the Brocken Mountain, which you can book in Reception. You can easily walk to the station from the Hotel.
We stayed 3 nights over a weekend in a Comfort Twin Room. The hotel is right in the centre of the town but is quiet. Facilities are very good with a good breakfast and a restaurant that offers a choice of a buffet or complete a la carte. We tried both. Nice spa, helpful staff. Easy walking access to other restaurants nearby if needed. Our room was large but a little utilitarian.
5 out of 5
by Trevor from Ipswich

Well worth a visit

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Just booked for a short break on our way from Frankfurt to North Germany. Last time in the Harz Mountain area was in the 1970s. What a find a beautiful place. Do take the steam train journey to Brocken as its worth it. Spend hours just walking round the street of Wernigerode looking at the old biuldings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corning NY

Wonderful location in Market Square of Aldstadt

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Breakfast, cleanliness
Cons: Front desk clerk in the evening was rude and needs training on how to be courteous and helpful in a service industry.
Location: Wernigerode castle, train to the Brocken, Goslar and quedlinburg are nearby and have castles as well, museums
Overall, we had a lovely stay in Wernigerode. We were there for four nights. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and had two dinners at the hotel restaurant. The food and wine were good but a little overpriced for the area and quality. Our room was comfortable and clean. The location couldn't be any better. The only negative is our welcome was lacking. The front desk clerk, who checked us in could not have been any unfriendlier if she tried! She bordered on rudeness. We were exhausted from a long drive and arrived at 22:00. There was water behind her and she didn't offer us any. I was thirsty after our 6 hour journed from southern Germany, but was too embarrassed to ask her for the water. Interestingly, my husband and I whitnessed her offering the water and giving a friendly welcome the next evening to German speaking guests. We began to wonder if Americans just weren't welcome.She was cold, unsmiling, not willing to answer our questions. I asked her about wifi and she interupted me and said very rudely (like she was punishing a child) " I will get to that". I just didn't want to forget to ask because at our previous hotel, they only gave a WIFI code if we asked fro one. I asked for tourist information on the area and she also didn;t seem to want to help us. So I was direct and asked if there was anyone else at the hotel who could guide us as visitors, unfamiliar with the harz, to some fun activites and towns. At that point she pulled a train schedule out.