Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great View, cleanliness not so great

Posted Mar 7, 2018
Pros: The view
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Great location right in downtown Hasselt. There are great restaurants and bars nearby.
There are a lot of positives to this hotel. The room had a great view, the front desk staff was friendly, the 18th floor lounge is great. All of this was overshadowed by a perceived lack of cleanliness of the room. First, upon arrival, one side of the bed had been turned down and looked as though someone had taken a nap on it. I looked past this because I wasn't sure if that was the case or if they just have a very unique turn down service. What was more disturbing was a "clean" hand towel in the bathroom that appeared to have a blood stain on it. I removed the towel from the rod and left it on the floor for the cleaning staff to pick up the next day, figuring I didn't need it and could use the other. The next day, upon returning to the room, I found that the same towel had been picked up off the floor and re-hung next to my bath towel. This is unacceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2018 by Radisson Blu Team Hasselt, Hotel Management
Dear Jeremy, thank you for reviewing your stay in our hotel. Nice to read that you enjoyed the location in the middle of the city centre of Hasselt, the service our team provides and the Sky Lounge. Our sincere apologise about the lack of cleanliness in the room. We can assure you that this didn't reflect the standards we normally use, so we will discuss this with the housekeeping department and it won't happen again in the future. We hope we get the chance to make things right during a next stay in our hotel. Best regards, The Radisson Blu Hotel, Hasselt
4 out of 5
by Kamyar

A nice hotel in central location

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
This is a nice property. In some areas improvements are needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017
Dear, Many thanks for your feedback. We really appreciate the feedback about your stay in our hotel and see it as positive arguments to improve our service and guest satisfaction in the future. The improvements are planed for next year. We are looking forward to welcome your back in our hotel during your next stay in Hasselt. Best regards, Daphne Timmers - Marketing & office Coördinator
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Disappointing stay

Posted Aug 25, 2017
I recently stayed here for two nights and was quite disappointed with the entire experience. When we arrived we were given a twin room even though I had specifically requested a Queen. I went back to the desk and he said unfortunately there was nothing he could do as it was all booked up and they can't guarantee the requests when booked through Expedia. I then went to the room and found all of the sheets and duvet were feather, which I am allergic to, so I tried to call down to the desk to have it changed only to find the phone didn't connect to the desk, it just Beeped as though the line was engaged. In the morning I requested the sheets and pillow be changed at the desk and the assured me it would be done immediately. I had to speak to four different staff members and still nothing happened. By 6:30pm that night the sheets were still not changed so I had to go down and demand it be done immediately. Not something I liked to do. The girl on the desk was finally extremely helpful and called around and made sure it happened while I was there. The next morning on checkout we asked for a taxi as we had to be somewhere by a specific time. They called the taxi for us no problem, but when he arrived someone else went to take our taxi. The taxi driver came in to speak to the desk and they instructed him to take the other passenger first and come back for us. i only found this out because I had to ask the desk ten minutes later where our taxi was. all in all I was very disappointed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Michelle, Thank you for your review. We apologize you didn't receive the bed you were expecting and for the service you received from the staff when requesting your bedding changed and a taxi ordered. We appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention and have shared your comments with hotel management to review.
5 out of 5
by Andy

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Came over to visit the Gin Museum stayed over for 2 nights lovely town, good food, atmosphere. Hotel perfect for our stay. Great bar on the 18th floor with wonderful views
5 out of 5
by Peter

Good hotel in the centre of Hasselt

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
Located at the centre of Hasselt, this is a good quality hotel. A walk around the town is recommended. Room quality is very good, and the service was of the highest standard. There is public underground parking available which is not dedicated to the hotel - cost for overnight was Euros16 Overall, a good, functional hotel - recommended...
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Radisson Blu Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay among us. We strive toward 100% Satisfaction guarantee and your evaluation is very helpful for us. I’d like to thank you for recommending the Radisson Blu Hotel, Hasselt and I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again during your next stay in Hasselt. Best Regards, the Radisson Blu Hasselt team
5 out of 5
by David

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
One night stay. Comfortable night and decent breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear David Thank you so much for this fantastic score! We hope to welcome you again very soon, The Radisson Blu Hasselt Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Dominic from London

A good reliable choice in the centre of Hasselt

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
A good reliable choice in the centre of Hasselt