Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run-down 80s hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
It is not worth spending the money quoted to stay at this hotel. Parking restrictions are listed clearly in the car park yet when you get to reception, none of the staff want to take your details to exempt you from charges as they say parking is free. I didn't feel very reassured. After finding out the hotel has no lift to my room ( yes I should have checked the site) , I lugged my stuff to the room after negotiating stairs and long corridors.. Plenty of room service trays were out on the floor waiting to be collected (still there later at night). I knew Google maps said the hotel was near the roundabout but please note it is literally ON the roundabout; look forward to being woken by traffic as the windows are not double-glazed. Having said that it is good for those wanting a passionate getaway as nobody will hear you through the traffic noise! The bouncy bed in my room was a good size with clean sheets - sadly the decorative covers were stained and did not look like they had been washed for a while. The room itself looks like it is from the 1980s and understandably the mod cons fitted into that era. Ensuite was okay however shower was quite a cramped size and the strange bonus is you can watch TV from the toilet. The staff did give me a wake call which I requested and this was on time! Breakfast included in the price was actually quite nice and I was glad to see Gluten free bread was available and soya milk upon request.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
rooms clean ,nice staff. nice environment breakfast is ok nice cafe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa canada

Good

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Good costly for 3 star hotel paying 75 night to much for this hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Carl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by STEPHEN

More Than Adequate.

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
This was a business trip - a stay of necessity. I wasn't planning on buying picture-postcards, which is just as well. Hatfield is functional rather than ornamental. In spite of its looks, which suggested that the best of its days might be far behind it, this is actually a pleasant enough hotel in which to stay. True, the carpet is alarmingly lumpy in places and the place is a bit of a warren, but he room itself was spacious, everything worked and the secondary glazing did a good job of shutting out any noise form outside. The bed was comfortable, too. I didn't eat there - breakfast didn't start until 08:00 on that Saturday and I had to be away by then - so can't comment on that aspect of service. I can say that desk staff were friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star review. I am pleased you found your bedroom spacious and quiet with comfy bed. I am particularly pleased you found my team so friendly & helpful. The hotel will benefit from a complete refit in October 2017 so this will address any issues like the carpets you highlight.
5 out of 5
by Mable

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review, much appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good value for money

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Cheap, good value for money
Cons: Remove litter from outside windowsills Advance details about swimming opportunities Ladies in particular need conditioner, shower cap, face cloth etc
Location: Hatfield House
Good breakfast and bar food, large shower, quiet room, obliging staff, large parking space near reception
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star review. I am pleased you found the hotel good value for money and found your bedroom quiet with good breakfast & bar food. I am particularly please you found my team so obliging. Details of the swimming pool and detailed on our and all third party websites. We do have conditioner and shower caps available but admittedly not face cloths.
5 out of 5
by Charlene

Pleasant stay

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
We visited for an overnight stay before we went to The Harry Potter studio tour (only 25 min drive away). Our rooms were comfortable, clean and big enough for our needs. The breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice and stocked regularly (they even provided gluten free bread on request) only down side was they only had one hot drinks machine so there was a bit of a wait. There is also a shopping centre with food outlets across the road. The decor may be a bit outdated but overall a pleasant stay, we will stay here again when we next visit The Harry Potter studio tour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. I am pleased you found your bedroom clean, comfy & spacious. I note your feedback regarding the quantity of coffee machines for breakfast. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Warner Brothers The Making of Harry Potter Studio Tour; this is a great attraction and located only 11 miles from the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but check your rate on arrival

Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
I booked online, but when I arrived, I was charged a higher rate. It was refunded after I went back to complain, but if I hadn't checked would have paid an extra £28! Reception staff could be a bit more welcoming. 2 cups out for 3 people and one set of biscuits! Apart from that, a very good value stay and a nice clean room. Breakfast staff were very nice :-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 3 star review. I am pleased you found your room nice & clean and good value for money. I am particularly pleased you found my breakfast team so nice. I note your feedback regarding quantity of items in the bedroom. I am not sure what the errors regarding rate were caused by but it certainly was not intentional and I am glad you managed to sort this out.