Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Wakana

Wonderful!

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
It was a very nice hotel near Itsukushima shrine. The hotel shuttle bus saved us from walking (about 15 min. ) from the train station/ ferry station. All the staff were very friendly and polite. We enjoyed the onsen, too. the buffet type breakfast offered a variety of both American and Japanese food. I would highly recommend this hotel!!
4 out of 5
by Laura

Hotel with comfort and a view

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel. Great good, great views, would recommend taking lots of mosquito repellent and germoline though! if you don't book dinner through the hotel they have a wonderful bar called Nagi - great staff and delicious food!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice facilities

Posted May 29, 2017
This hotel has its own hot spring, so you do not need to walk to an off site location for a hot bath and sauna. The outdoor pool was closed during our stay, so that was a little disappointing. The shuttle that takes guests to the train stops was much appreciated.
4 out of 5
by Jody

Nice hotel close to Miyajima

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
We were very fortunate to get the last available room at the Aki Grand, as there were several conventions in Hiroshima and almost no places to stay. Being closer to Miyajima made it more convenient to spend time on the magical island. But when we returned from the island just after 6, there was almost nothing open for dinner. We were happy to find one small restaurant open not far from the JR station.There is not much around on the mainland. The hotel itself is very nice with a beautiful view across the water to the island, and the lobby is beautiful. Staff were very pleasant. We had a Japanese-style room. We are fine on futons, but these were pretty thin for the caliber of the hotel (I've had better ones at airbnb's). A Western-style room might be more comfortable for most tourists.
4 out of 5
by Mel

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Nice and clean. Spacious and good views. A little too remote for me,but overall nice hotel
2 out of 5
by Rena

Disappointed; do not stay during the summer

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
From appearance, this hotel looks like it'll be great. The exterior and lobby area look quite grand, and the amenities sound great. Unfortunately, not only did the room not meet expectations, but they were a disappointment. The air conditioning in the hotel, including in the rooms, are very weak. Do NOT stay here during the summer heat, as the AC is not strong enough to give you a comfortable stay. My partner and I were so hot in the room, and this was especially disappointing given the price of the hotel. The ocean view from the room was great, but bugs and heat came streaming in every time we opened the balcony door, so we would just admire the view from the inside of our hot room. They give you a portable wifi for your room, but it's so slow that it's almost as if you don't have wifi at all. I will say, however, that the staff are very friendly and try to accommodate however they can, even though they couldn't do much for our requests about the AC. In addition, I did not make it back to the hotel in time to use the amenities (e.g., hot springs), but they looked nice and might have made the stay more worthwhile. Also, note that the hotel's shuttle buses don't run past 7pm, and even though Google Maps says that the hotel is a 10-min walk from the train station, the path really isn't very walkable because the hotel is located kind of in the middle of nowhere, so you'll have to take a cab over.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the onsen and friendly staff

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Definitely one of our favourite places we have stayed in all of Japan. This place has character and atmosphere although the interior is dated we loved it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable but needing updating.

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
As with all Japanese hotels the service in the Grand Aki was very good but the hotel felt a little dated compared with some. The location was fantastic for visits to Miyajima but a hotel in Hiroshima would have been more convenient for other local attractions. Wifi was very poor, none in the room and sketchy at best even in the reception so had to use the free wifi in the Peace Museum in Hiroshima.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: The view.
Cons: Everything else from the building itself to staff training.
Excellent view but everything else is sort of disappointing. The hotel needs to update its facilities.
3 out of 5
by Joshualf from Brisbane Australia

Great views to Miyajima island

Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels
Great location, nice staff service, rooms and hotels need some renovation to make it perfect. Good for a short stay with no frills.