Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: The balcony overlooking the marina.
Breakfast was not serve till 8am. There were a few carpet stains and what looked like a 3"dark stain on bed skirt.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Musty and dated environment

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Stayed at this Motel and was given room 139. After entering the room it was very very musty smelling and when we went to open the broken shades on the balcony door we looked up at the ceiling and saw a roach/palmetto bug 3 inches long. Asked for a different room (#141) but still very musty. Breakfast consisted of coffee and wrapped muffins. Would never stay here again. Front desk staff were nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Hotel on Marina

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Cons: Hotel needs updating, it was clean and staff were very friendly.
Location: Great for fishing, going to the beach, close to the ferry to Ocracoake Island
Basic Hotel, rooms very musty smelling and just old and needs updating. Rooms were clean and all rooms have balcony overlooking water. The restaurant was fantastic, great service, food was superb!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We have recently updated the Fisherman's Quarters and hope to update the Soundfront building this year.
4 out of 5
by Felicia

Beautiful view but smells bad

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
The view from the hotel was lovely, but as other reviews commented the moldy smell in the room was pretty bad. Otherwise it was clean, and the front desk staff friendly. We had a lovely dinner at the Breakwater Restaurant just behind with music and a beautiful sunset.
5 out of 5
by Bobby

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely awesome grounds and hotel were everything you would picture a stay in the Outer Banks should be. Loved it staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
by Victoria

Great stay

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great view of the marina. But far from the ferry. Restaurants to choose from nearby. Overall a very pleasant stay. No water or juice offered at breakfast though so if you don't like coffee you'll go thirsty.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

About what you'd expect for 2 stars.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
In line with our expectations for a 2star. Breakfast mediocre, cleanliness good, friendly folks, older remodel (fixtures pitted and light surface rust, paint peeled, etc.) We probably won't go back. Not because we didn't get our money's worth, but because they didn't give us a reason to want to come back and we like trying new things. It was a positive experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near fishing, surfing and ferry to Ocracoke

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient to all attractions and recreation in lower Outer Banks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay. The room was perfect - clean, comfortable, and a great view. The staffeta were friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We're glad you enjoyed your stay! The view is hard to beat. Hope to see you again.