Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Penzance, Cornwall

A very pleasant Old Coach House type hotel.

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: We liked the friendly feeling we noticed on arrival. Somehow we thought this was going to be a good experience.
Cons: Our room was a bit tired and well worn. It needed some considerable work, especially the ensuite bathroom.
Location: The location was perfect as we required to move around some considerable distances to complete our business. The surroundings were very picturesque.
We were struck by the quaint appearance and you could almost imagine how the hotel worked in the old days with all it's stables horses and coaches and such. Internally the atmosphere retains that feeling and it reflects that throughout the whole building. The public areas, restaurant and bars were excellent, well lit and very comfortable. The bedroom was large and again very comfortable with all that any traveller would need for a short stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing facilities and unempathetic staff

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The location, the free parking, the outside area, the breakfast room with lots of light
Cons: Fixing broken things in the bedroom, fan, mattress, cracks, walls, furniture, etc; client facing training to reception staff
Location: Small nice village, close to Portsmouth
Hotel location is OK and the outside, with free parking a couple of tables is quite nice. The inside is old and the room had several issues 1) bathroom fan was not working properly and making a terrible noise 2) the mattress was broken, with holes and bumps 3) and not critical, but important, the room furniture was old, in bad condition and most of the walls needed fixing. When I kindly asked if there was another room available because of the broken fan, the hotel responsible was completely unempathetic and did not make any effort to try to get the situation resolved. Had a terrible sleep because of the mattress, woke up with a sore back. Breakfast was pleasant and staff was very helpful. Will never return and do not recomend
2 out of 5
by Simon from Stourport on severn

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Bed very comfortable. Room still has original 70s decor. Bar area sticky,beer poor quality and bacon with breakfast may have come back to life with a bit of a massage it was that under cooked.
3 out of 5
by Jane from Leigh on Sea

New carpets

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
As Always, staff are very helpful and friendly, but carpet on stairs is old and threadbare in places. I was amazed to see hallways being painted, but carpets need replacing and bathroom fittings need updating.
4 out of 5
by Garry from Bridgwater Somerset

Step back in time.

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent food . Friendly staff. Sunday served earlier breakfast than 8.00 am. As our police club meet at 8,00 many thanks to the staff. Everything worked. Old fashioned = loads of character. Excellent Value for the money Wanted to stay this Saturday but completely booked solid.
4 out of 5
by Mr C G from Norfolk

Weekend away.

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed at the Bear on several occasions. The location suits us as it is close to family members. We were welcomed together with our dog who goes everywhere with us. There is a nice shopping centre nearby and the later breakfast time till 10.00 suits us as we like to get up later when we are away from home.
3 out of 5
by Glyn from Telford

Few complaints

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
First night was terrible, very uncomfortable bed, bathroom was scruffy, but when complaints to staff in the morning they were very appolagetic and gave us another room and we enjoined the rest of our week stay with out any bother.seating in rooms could be better.
3 out of 5
by Laurence from Barnsley

Room 7 review

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Had 3 rooms, 2 x double and 1 x family. The one double and family room appeared fine from what I saw of them and modernised. However I was appalled at the state of the "unmodernised" "room 7" I had and will be submitting a review with photos on trip advisor. Whilst the main room it's self was clean it was extremely dated and reminded me of the flat I had in my uni days (I used to pay about £85 a fortnight for that flat which is what paid for this room for one night!). The bathroom however was very worn down, black mold behind the taps, dirty behind the toilet and all fixtures looking very old and worn; Luckily we were only stopping after a party and not spending much time in the room. Not enough staff on during breakfast which meant orders for cooked food were slow and forgotten. The room was mentioned during check out, however member of staff didn't seem particularly interested and just stated it's waiting for modernising. I would have expected this room to be FAR cheaper than £85 considering it's lack of modernisation and cleanliness.
3 out of 5
by Trevor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Lee

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
erro in booking, hotel refused to adjust even though it was two months in advance,,very disappointing!