Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

Nice hotel with nice country views

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Nice nice breakfast and serving good food on the evening
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hospitality,

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The Thatched House, now the Pub and its location. Staff are very friendlry and hospitable. I hope the owners do well doing this business.
Cons: For Expedia to get the correct infos of each room avail.this is very important.
Location: Safe countryside that is only six miles from Claire and about twenty miles from Lavenham, Bury St. edmunds, and Cambridge.
Expedia apparently did not have an accurate info of the room that this place offers, we ended up sleeping in a different room that accomodate omly three people instead of four. So my Aunt had to stay in another place. However the staff are excellent and hospitable, breakfast is wonderfullly All Emglish food and yummy. Room is comfy amd in really good condition. This place has a lot of history in a lovely, safe area of Haverhill, Suffolk England.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Disappointing stay.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Good size room
Cons: The standards
Location: Lovely location for a visit to Anglesey Abbey
Check in ok and shown to double superior room with private garden in accommodation block adjacent to the pub. Room large and nicely furnished but dusty. Ensuite adequate size but bathroom mirror dirty and shower pressure poor. Room lacked attention to detail, two hand towels but only one bath towel, two cups but only one saucer. Requested an additional bath towel on the first evening but this wasn't provided till breakfast the following morning. Garden disappointing, overgrown, not maintained and full ashtray found on patio table. Only supplied with a room key and found ourselves locked out twice when the outer door to the accommodation block shut to which we hadn't been provided with a key. Went out on the second day and upon arriving back found that the room hadn't been serviced. When we queried this at check out we were told that the room wasn't serviced because we failed to leave the room key, we hadn't been told that the key needed to be handed in if we went out for the day. On the day of check out went across to the pub for breakfast and found the door locked and no-one around. Eventually let in only to find the tables hadn't been laid for breakfast. Disappointed when checking out that an additional £40 was payable for four breakfasts as the menu provided in the room listed the breakfast options but didn't show any prices. Overall for the price paid the accommodation did not live up to expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Thoroughly Recommended

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: The welcome was outstanding. The hosts could not be more accommodating.
Location: Remote but relaxing in a small vilage
A charming thatched pub with nice rooms at a good price. The food is excellent.
1 out of 5
by gary from Watford

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
I book this hotels six weeks before our stay to find that the room wasn't available when checking in
4 out of 5
by Mark from Snaith

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Clean, friendly staff and good value
5 out of 5
by John from Stevenage

Famous cricket links

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely little pub with links to Don Bradman, famous Australian cricketer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels