Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, california

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
We cook u own breakfast....kitchen appliances too old n afraid fire hazard. Would be happy if coffee is ready, boiled eggs. And toast if not coffee, cereals, oj Pastry. The stove was a challenge to put the fire, matches don't light, ? Out of gas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money but lacks personal touch

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Good sized room, hire a car if you stay here as it is a decent walk to get anywhere. We had a note on the door when we arrived and didn't meet the owner until our second day. Was also hard to contact them by phone. The property is great value for money and allows you to make your own breakfast every morning. The shower curtain fell down during the night and scared the hell out of us but other than that it was a pleasant stay
4 out of 5
by Graeme from Newcastle

Nice B&B

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent value for money. Nice B&B.
4 out of 5
by Steven from Livermore, CA

On the cheap...

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was great for what it was, a cheap, clean place to stay. We were only one night in Hilo, basically to investigate personal history. They serve a buffet breakfast in the morning but, we were unable to enjoy this as we left at 4:00 am for a tour of the lava flow. Check in was easy, they left a code on the door for you to punch in. Never met our hosts. Location is a bit weird, driving past an industrial are including the cruise docks, BUT, the area is nice, jungle like. If you are looking for a swimming pool and a close walk to the action, this place is NOT for you.
5 out of 5
by Raul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Easy relaxed atmosphere
Cons: More tables in the shade for breakfast.
Location: Secret Beach is just a few houses down the road with access through a gate. Carl Smith Beach and Richardson Beach parks for snorkeling and swim.
Relaxed Local area close to beaches and snorkeling.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

This is a hostel

Posted Aug 5, 2016
We found Aaron's in a small residential area on the edges of Hilo. Alan the resident host was kind to welcome us and we found our room clean and basic. There is no shampoo or soap for the shower and the sink plunger was broken and stuck closed so I just removed it. If you want breakfast you have to go into the common kitchen and cook and clean for yourself. Alan informed me that the woman who makes breakfast was gone and here ya go. Half a loaf of old wheat bread, a papaya and two bananas in the basket, some eggs, and a few strips of bacon left in an open packet, and two slices of plastic wrapped cheese product. Have at it! Cook and clean for yourselves like a hostel with scant food available. The dishes were stacked high in the mold covered (underneath) plastic dish rack. This was thanks to a traveling Kiwi couple who kindly "tidied up" by cleaning the dirty kitchen. They related that they came back for the wonderful breakfasts as mentioned in the reviews and were also disappointed there was none. For what we paid per night it seems the owner could have sprung for some help to make breakfast and clean up for their guests. If not then don't advertise it and lower your rates. Just ok and made bagels that we brought and a few eggs for breakfasts. Washed up the pans and dishes before leaving. Have stayed in many B and B's and this is not one. We are not coming back. On a brighter note the rooms are a short walk from the Hilo bay and ocean which was pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Nice little studio located close to the water and the airport in Hilo. Friendly staff. Good AC and very clean. A very convenient stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I would stay there again

Posted Aug 3, 2016
For a place that sounds like you're couch surfing at your friend's friend's house. This place is great. Clean modern rooms. All the basics. I like they have a little kitchen to cook whatever you want. They offer free eggs bacon cereals and fruit. Nice other tenants. If you want to save a bit on your trip and spend on activities. Aaron's place is a cool spot. Don't get confused with abbots cabin that is right next door . Maybe they're cousins. This is Hawaii!