Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I could hear the surf

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Private and quiet, very comfortable.
Cons: I cannot think of anything.
Location: Location is close to beaches, restaurants and shopping
I was welcomed by Alan in the evening and he showed me around, where our self serve kitchen for breakfast was, the wifi and where to park. After traveling for 48 hours I was ready to crash. The bed was very comfy and I fell asleep immediately. I awoke to the crashing waves in the morning and took a stroll down to the beach, it was a very beautiful morning. Nice place to stay a few minutes from the airport, the cottages are very private and quiet than any hotel around, you will not be disappointed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Cute roomy cottage

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Rustic, quaint, close to beach. Quiet and peaceful. Less that $100 per night.
Cons: Tidy up the yard. It wouldn't be that hard. Tidy up the kitchen and provide some individual cereal boxes and possibly some pastries.
Location: Close to downtown Hilo. Walk to beach, Local Zoo (free entry) wonderful, Rainbow Falls, Tsunami Museum, Wed. - Fri. - Farmers Market (must do).
Rustic clean roomy cottage room with wall air conditioning and mini fridge. Continental breakfast (bread for toast, eggs, milk, fresh fruit (papayas and bananas) coffee and tea. You cook your own food and beverages in a small kitchen area. Yard is messy but has chairs, tables and coverage provided. The public beach access is literally a 2 min. walk from the front of the cottages and a 5 min. walk from the back of the property. You could get your feet wet but not a safe swimming beach. We have stayed here twice and love the location to down town Hilo, etc. Very quiet and peaceful! However, it is rustic and you need to know that. Can't beat the price! Looking forward to our next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Clean and comfortable Clean and comfortable

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: The room
Cons: The kitchen and breakfast.
Location: Good location with a car. Close to Hilo and near the coast.
The room was very good with ensuite and chairs to relax in. Aircon not so good. The do it yourself self breakfast was in a pretty rough kitchen with eggs,bread for toast, bananas and coffee in your room. No oil or butter to fry the eggs and no egg cups for boiled. No cereal. The owner was friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fargo, ND

I'm easy to please but.....

Posted Dec 4, 2016
The location was perfect for me. Totally quiet. There were some cleanliness issues with my room and the shared kitchen (hair on the shower wall, dried contacts stuck to the wall by the bathroom garbage. Really minor stuff to me). While I was there a guest actually took the time to clean the kitchen. It really didn't bother me. I'm a bachelor. My only complaint would be the bed. It was a futon mattress on a box spring (I think) and the first night the frame broke but there was a wooden stool under there so I'm sure they new about it. Really wasn't an issue other than safety from the sharp metal. But the bed was hard as a rock. That was only for my room. #10. From what I saw in the other rooms, they appeared to have regular beds and mattresses. If I ever do go back to Hilo I would definitely consider staying there again. If your looking for a traditional B&B it is not. The kitchen is open 24/7 which is nice if you want to just cook for yourself. They did provide bread, milk, cereal, eggs, bacon, fresh fruit and maybe a few other things I missed. Overall it was a 3/5 for me. If I had still been married, my wife would of made us leave after the first night but like I said. I'm easy. Mahalo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anthem, United States of America

Great location at a great price!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Location: Beach parks nearby; short drive to airport and downtown Hilo. 45 minute drive to Volcano National Park.
Comfortable bed; includes breakfast; check-in packet is at your door (check the room number on your reservation).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great value,Safe, very convenant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget Accommodations not up to par.

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Owner Alan was friendly, shower was good that's the only positives. Bed was old, room could have been cleaner, greeted by giant cockroach, kitchen area needed full remodel, was old and dirty would not prepare the food provided there (eggs, bacon, bread, milk, papaya, bananas). You get what you pay for Aaron's Cottage is for the budget traveler, if you can deal with the mentioned problems and are on a budget by all means stay there but count on eating breakfast out. The place has potential but needs lots of work.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay here. Kitchen was well stocked and the fresh fruit was a great way to start our day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Very quite. Common kitchen for 4 rooms but never saw any one using it but us. plenty of food for breakfast . Would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels