Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany


Posted Oct 17, 2016
My husband and I were on our 10 year anniversary trip to Hawaii. Our first night booked was supposed to be Aarons Cottage in Hilo, Big Island thru Expedia. The room we had booked was a non-refundable and non-changeable room and actually the last one available. Due to big air travel delays we did not make it to our booked accommodation. So we had contacted Robert the owner/care taker immediatly and let him know, that we won't make it for our booked night and if there is a possibility to rebook. Too bad Aarons Cottage was sold out for a good week, so no chance. Robert offered us to refund us the whole amount we had paid instead, even it was a non-refundable/non-changeable booking. So the only thing we had to do since we booked the room thru Expedia, was to get in contact with them and explain what had happen. Expedia got in contact with Robert to verify. So just a couple of days later, we have gotten an email from Expedia, that the whole amount was charged back on our Credit Card. Wow, thanks a lot! Even that we did not get to stay there and can't say much about the accommodation itself, we just like to say thank you for how everything worked out,especially to Robert who was fine with offering to refund in that kind of situation. And yes, if we are coming back to Big Island we would book Aarons Cottage or even suggest it to family and friends. Best regards, Natascha & Shawn
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: 車は必須。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: オーナーさんが気さくで明るい。 ベッドの枕とブランケットが心地よかった。
Location: ヒロ空港から車て10分くらい。空港近くに大きなショッピングモールがあります。 海辺がちかくにあります。
きれいな海辺が近くにあり、緑の多い静かなエリアにあります。 ヒロ空港からも車で10分くらいで便利でした。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Value for money but lacks personal touch

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Good sized room, hire a car if you stay here as it is a decent walk to get anywhere. We had a note on the door when we arrived and didn't meet the owner until our second day. Was also hard to contact them by phone. The property is great value for money and allows you to make your own breakfast every morning. The shower curtain fell down during the night and scared the hell out of us but other than that it was a pleasant stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Easy relaxed atmosphere
Cons: More tables in the shade for breakfast.
Location: Secret Beach is just a few houses down the road with access through a gate. Carl Smith Beach and Richardson Beach parks for snorkeling and swim.
Relaxed Local area close to beaches and snorkeling.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

This is a hostel

Posted Aug 5, 2016
We found Aaron's in a small residential area on the edges of Hilo. Alan the resident host was kind to welcome us and we found our room clean and basic. There is no shampoo or soap for the shower and the sink plunger was broken and stuck closed so I just removed it. If you want breakfast you have to go into the common kitchen and cook and clean for yourself. Alan informed me that the woman who makes breakfast was gone and here ya go. Half a loaf of old wheat bread, a papaya and two bananas in the basket, some eggs, and a few strips of bacon left in an open packet, and two slices of plastic wrapped cheese product. Have at it! Cook and clean for yourselves like a hostel with scant food available. The dishes were stacked high in the mold covered (underneath) plastic dish rack. This was thanks to a traveling Kiwi couple who kindly "tidied up" by cleaning the dirty kitchen. They related that they came back for the wonderful breakfasts as mentioned in the reviews and were also disappointed there was none. For what we paid per night it seems the owner could have sprung for some help to make breakfast and clean up for their guests. If not then don't advertise it and lower your rates. Just ok and made bagels that we brought and a few eggs for breakfasts. Washed up the pans and dishes before leaving. Have stayed in many B and B's and this is not one. We are not coming back. On a brighter note the rooms are a short walk from the Hilo bay and ocean which was pleasant
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Nice little studio located close to the water and the airport in Hilo. Friendly staff. Good AC and very clean. A very convenient stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I would stay there again

Posted Aug 3, 2016
For a place that sounds like you're couch surfing at your friend's friend's house. This place is great. Clean modern rooms. All the basics. I like they have a little kitchen to cook whatever you want. They offer free eggs bacon cereals and fruit. Nice other tenants. If you want to save a bit on your trip and spend on activities. Aaron's place is a cool spot. Don't get confused with abbots cabin that is right next door . Maybe they're cousins. This is Hawaii!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seiul

Amazing prices. Best satisfaction

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Host is fun like Hawaii Weather The price is reasonable and convenient facilities, Location is close to the airport and all kinds of Mart You can go walk on the beach Toast bread, milk, eggs and bacon are Refrigerators in Free Kona coffee is in my room I broke a dish but the host is very apealing It is really good hotel I will lremember Aarons cottage for a long time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simple, clean room

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Wotif
We only had a quick one night stay and this was everything we needed. Basically a hotel room in a house (with 2-3 other rooms). We did not hear the other guests. Easy to find, but a little away from central Hilo so you need a car. Nice big shower.