Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I could hear the surf

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Private and quiet, very comfortable.
Cons: I cannot think of anything.
Location: Location is close to beaches, restaurants and shopping
I was welcomed by Alan in the evening and he showed me around, where our self serve kitchen for breakfast was, the wifi and where to park. After traveling for 48 hours I was ready to crash. The bed was very comfy and I fell asleep immediately. I awoke to the crashing waves in the morning and took a stroll down to the beach, it was a very beautiful morning. Nice place to stay a few minutes from the airport, the cottages are very private and quiet than any hotel around, you will not be disappointed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Cute roomy cottage

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Rustic, quaint, close to beach. Quiet and peaceful. Less that $100 per night.
Cons: Tidy up the yard. It wouldn't be that hard. Tidy up the kitchen and provide some individual cereal boxes and possibly some pastries.
Location: Close to downtown Hilo. Walk to beach, Local Zoo (free entry) wonderful, Rainbow Falls, Tsunami Museum, Wed. - Fri. - Farmers Market (must do).
Rustic clean roomy cottage room with wall air conditioning and mini fridge. Continental breakfast (bread for toast, eggs, milk, fresh fruit (papayas and bananas) coffee and tea. You cook your own food and beverages in a small kitchen area. Yard is messy but has chairs, tables and coverage provided. The public beach access is literally a 2 min. walk from the front of the cottages and a 5 min. walk from the back of the property. You could get your feet wet but not a safe swimming beach. We have stayed here twice and love the location to down town Hilo, etc. Very quiet and peaceful! However, it is rustic and you need to know that. Can't beat the price! Looking forward to our next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Clean and comfortable Clean and comfortable

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: The room
Cons: The kitchen and breakfast.
Location: Good location with a car. Close to Hilo and near the coast.
The room was very good with ensuite and chairs to relax in. Aircon not so good. The do it yourself self breakfast was in a pretty rough kitchen with eggs,bread for toast, bananas and coffee in your room. No oil or butter to fry the eggs and no egg cups for boiled. No cereal. The owner was friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fargo, ND

I'm easy to please but.....

Posted Dec 4, 2016
The location was perfect for me. Totally quiet. There were some cleanliness issues with my room and the shared kitchen (hair on the shower wall, dried contacts stuck to the wall by the bathroom garbage. Really minor stuff to me). While I was there a guest actually took the time to clean the kitchen. It really didn't bother me. I'm a bachelor. My only complaint would be the bed. It was a futon mattress on a box spring (I think) and the first night the frame broke but there was a wooden stool under there so I'm sure they new about it. Really wasn't an issue other than safety from the sharp metal. But the bed was hard as a rock. That was only for my room. #10. From what I saw in the other rooms, they appeared to have regular beds and mattresses. If I ever do go back to Hilo I would definitely consider staying there again. If your looking for a traditional B&B it is not. The kitchen is open 24/7 which is nice if you want to just cook for yourself. They did provide bread, milk, cereal, eggs, bacon, fresh fruit and maybe a few other things I missed. Overall it was a 3/5 for me. If I had still been married, my wife would of made us leave after the first night but like I said. I'm easy. Mahalo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anthem, United States of America

Great location at a great price!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Location: Beach parks nearby; short drive to airport and downtown Hilo. 45 minute drive to Volcano National Park.
Comfortable bed; includes breakfast; check-in packet is at your door (check the room number on your reservation).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money but lacks personal touch

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Good sized room, hire a car if you stay here as it is a decent walk to get anywhere. We had a note on the door when we arrived and didn't meet the owner until our second day. Was also hard to contact them by phone. The property is great value for money and allows you to make your own breakfast every morning. The shower curtain fell down during the night and scared the hell out of us but other than that it was a pleasant stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Easy relaxed atmosphere
Cons: More tables in the shade for breakfast.
Location: Secret Beach is just a few houses down the road with access through a gate. Carl Smith Beach and Richardson Beach parks for snorkeling and swim.
Relaxed Local area close to beaches and snorkeling.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

This is a hostel

Posted Aug 5, 2016
We found Aaron's in a small residential area on the edges of Hilo. Alan the resident host was kind to welcome us and we found our room clean and basic. There is no shampoo or soap for the shower and the sink plunger was broken and stuck closed so I just removed it. If you want breakfast you have to go into the common kitchen and cook and clean for yourself. Alan informed me that the woman who makes breakfast was gone and here ya go. Half a loaf of old wheat bread, a papaya and two bananas in the basket, some eggs, and a few strips of bacon left in an open packet, and two slices of plastic wrapped cheese product. Have at it! Cook and clean for yourselves like a hostel with scant food available. The dishes were stacked high in the mold covered (underneath) plastic dish rack. This was thanks to a traveling Kiwi couple who kindly "tidied up" by cleaning the dirty kitchen. They related that they came back for the wonderful breakfasts as mentioned in the reviews and were also disappointed there was none. For what we paid per night it seems the owner could have sprung for some help to make breakfast and clean up for their guests. If not then don't advertise it and lower your rates. Just ok and made bagels that we brought and a few eggs for breakfasts. Washed up the pans and dishes before leaving. Have stayed in many B and B's and this is not one. We are not coming back. On a brighter note the rooms are a short walk from the Hilo bay and ocean which was pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Nice little studio located close to the water and the airport in Hilo. Friendly staff. Good AC and very clean. A very convenient stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I would stay there again

Posted Aug 3, 2016
For a place that sounds like you're couch surfing at your friend's friend's house. This place is great. Clean modern rooms. All the basics. I like they have a little kitchen to cook whatever you want. They offer free eggs bacon cereals and fruit. Nice other tenants. If you want to save a bit on your trip and spend on activities. Aaron's place is a cool spot. Don't get confused with abbots cabin that is right next door . Maybe they're cousins. This is Hawaii!