Ratings based on 356 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Twin Falls Id

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Would recommend ocean front accommodations as the views are spectacular!
We enjoyed our stay. Our unit was as we expected-clean-comfortable-great view. Check in staff was nice. Had no complaints!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

Excellent condo experience

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Chose this property because it offered 2 bathrooms (a plus when travelling with a teen girl) & a washer/dryer in each unit. The owners obviously cared about their unit (kitchen & bathrooms were updated). Office staff is very friendly. Property is very clean & relaxing. Parking was never a problem. Shout out to Dolly at the Expedia travel desk. She was very knowledgeable, helpful & friendly. Had a great trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Home Away From Home

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Aston Kona By The Sea is a pleasant 13 minute drive from Kona International Airport through touristy Ali'i Drive, but far enough from the madding crowd to enjoy peace and privacy. Once there, you'll be greeted by warm, accommodating and friendly staff who will welcome you to your home away from home complete with free parking, a full kitchen, and washer/dryer. The daily $12.50 fee is all worth it as they service your unit daily, change the sheets every 5 days or as needed, and replenish the towels, dishwasher and washer detergent, toiletries and consummables as needed. I definitely recommend staying at Aston Kona By The Sea!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Perfect for our family!

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Grandma, her son and her daughter...their spouses, 3 teenages, an 8 yr old and 3 yr old too. 10 in all, 2 rms 2 doors apart. Back and forth we went between our units when not at the beach, the volcano, Alii Dr, shops, looking at the wonder of ALL the beautiful fish. And of course we loved the pool by the sea. Fantastic! Now to figure out a return trip! Just a 5 star stay. Thank you from the bottom of my heart!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anaheim Hills

Posted Dec 17, 2016
This was a very nice place to spend a week. It's close enough for the convenience of town and not to close you have to deal with the increasing homeless issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Folsom, CA

Quiet Beachside Oasis

Posted Dec 3, 2016
I was very pleased with the facility, grounds and location. It is located on a quiet part of Ali'i Drive, but not too far from the busy downtown. Ample parking and much of it is covered. The grounds were pristine. The gardeners take great pride in their work. The condo was very large and had everything we needed for a week-long stay. We could prepare meals in the full size kitchen. Each bedroom had it's own bathroom. The only downside is that this is a very dated and well-used facility. The carpet had stains and snags. The grout in the tiles was dirty. The drapes had seen better days. These conditions did not ruin my trip. I would stay there again. I think the bank of rooms reserved for Expedia customers is the section of rooms that have not been updated for years. Perhaps if one were to book directly with the facility, the room would be better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice, quiet ocean front hotel.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Nice ocean view, quiet and clean. Close to dining, shopping and historical sites.
Cons: Room decor gives some sort of an island vibe, but a newer sofa in the living room would be nice.
This is a very nice place. We enjoyed our 2 bedroom/2 bath suite on the third floor which had a very nice view of the ocean (didn't mind overlooking the pool either), but perhaps staying on the farther south side of the building would have offered a better view of the sunset from the balcony (the coconut trees obstructed the view of the sunset. It's quiet and very relaxing - aside from the view, we loved the cool ocean breeze and the sound of the waves. It is very close to the best dining places along Ali'i drive so we dined out most of the time but the functional kitchen proved very handy when we had to "eat in" for breakfast. Coffee service was provided (part of the resort fee), and you can use the gas bbq located by the beach area also. The beds were comfortable and the place was clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Did the laundry before our flight and the in-room washer & dryer worked just fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Visit to Kona by the Sea on the Big Island

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: The spaciousness of the condo & it's Hawaiian motif. We also had a beautiful view of the ocean & evening sunsets.
Cons: Sign out front should say Aston.
Location: Visited a active volcano
We loved our stay at Aston Kona by the Sea. We arrived early & had a little trouble finding the correct location, because the signage does not say Aston. The staff was friendly & promised to call us as soon as our condo was ready. She called & we actually received an upgrade, to a ocean view condo, because the dishwasher in ours was not working. I would definitely come back & stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Beautiful Facility but could have been better

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: The location is outstanding, with a beautiful view of the ocean and short distance to town, activities and shopping. Staff was exceedingly helpful.
Cons: Room was nice, but a little spartan and mattress not comfortable. More honesty in room classification as the oceanfront view was partially blocked.
Location: It is about 2 miles to town, where all activities are available, such as cruises, jet skis, kayaks , shopping and anything you would need.
Location, location, location. The hotel is immediately on the ocean with beautiful views. The building exterior and grounds are in excellent condition. The coastline was rocky, but a small man made beach was provided with chairs and umbrellas. It provided a wonderful place to relax, watch the ocean and surfers, and observe the sunset. Staff allowed us a hour late checkout and access to the grounds for several hours, as we had the typical late flight out. As a few other reviewers had mentioned, not all "oceanfront" rooms had an unobstructed view. The building blocked about 30 percent of our view, and nothing else was available at check-in. Room needed maintenance due to broken bed frame and poor drainage in tub. These were fixed quickly by staff. Parking was limited but adequate,except one night when the hotel hosted a yacht club meeting. Cars were parked everywhere including outside of spaces and at least one bent fender was a result. However, the positives far exceeded the negatives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful location.