Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hasselt, Belgium

Very peaceful, cozy, clean and well cared for.

Posted Nov 16, 2015
We loved it! Very peaceful, cozy, clean and well cared for. Despite the rain, we had a wonderful time. We will certainly recommend it to our friends
5 out of 5
by Caroline from Zürich

Einfach einmalig

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
Einfach unbeschreiblich toll
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Beautiful room in the middle of the rainforest

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Lovely room in a quiet area very close to the national park. If you expect a B&B with encounter with the host and hit breakfast this isn't for you . As we briefly met the host on arrival then never saw him again. Breakfast is DIY with products provided by the host . The freshly made banana cake was a nice gesture . There is a hot tub nestled in the rainforest
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We liked it, but it's not for everyone...

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
This place can be great or not-so-great, depending on your expectations. On the up-side: *You feel like you're alone, surrounded by lush green rain forest *It's relaxing to hear the rain pour at night with the doors open, as you sleep *The management provides fresh baked bread, is very nice and accommodating *The charm of a small, 2 room building in the forest is a nice break from big hotels with mobs of tourists Things that you might not like: *The water pressure is not great and getting a hot shower requires some tinkering *The bathroom sink drains slow *There isn't daily cleaning service in your room, you need to wash dishes in your bathroom sink *No AC, so it's very hard to get anything to dry in the rain forest Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We were happy to trade some of the comforts of a large hotel for the privacy and tranquility of this boutique.
4 out of 5
by Adam from Los Angeles

A uniquely beautiful Hawaiian cottage

Posted Jul 23, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful cottage at 3500 feet in the mountain rainforest. If you're looking for secluded, peaceful, and rustic, this is a great spot. The hotel manager was really lovely and went above and beyond. He even drove us down to the airport on the 2nd day because we realised we needed a rental car to maximise our stay. The hotel is beautiful. Our bathroom sink was what looked like a carved out tree stump. There were sliding doors that opened on two sides of our room allowing fresh air and the sound of light rain and singing birds to come through. There was a nice hot tub and sauna down the boardwalk behind the rooms. We enjoyed that one evening and it's a unique amenity for a property of this kind. The ad lists a complimentary breakfast but the hotel is not licensed as a commercial kitchen. We were provided an assortment of fruity, cereals, and snacks. The fridge was stocked with milk and juice. While we were disappointed to not have a hot breakfast, the food provided was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is close to Volcano, HI, a very small town with a couple food options. There is also very easy access to the Volcano National Park which is a MUST SEE. Beyond that, you need to be prepared for long drives to Hilo or other coastal areas, but don't let that deter you. This hotel is a unique chance to stay in the rainforest and really relax in between all day outings elsewhere on the Island.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Posted Jun 25, 2015
This place was awesome! Very great location and it was very private. Loved the room and the bed was very comfortable. They provided a great snack and drink option as well as breakfast items. My only complaint would be that it got a little warm in the room because there is no A/C unless you opened the doors which takes away a little privacy, so a fan would have been nice.
5 out of 5
by Karin from Schweiz

Sehr gemütliches B&B

Posted Jun 23, 2015 on Hotels
Sehr gemütliches B&B! Das Frühstück befindet sich im Kühlschrank vom Zimmer, etwas ungewohnt, doch passte soweit. Sehr leckeres Bananenbrot!!! Sehr schönes Zimmer!!! Neuer renoviert, sehr gekonnt eingerichtet. Es befindet sich etwas ausserhalb Volcano, in der Nähe vom Park. Ich würde wieder da buchen.
5 out of 5
by Susan from Toronto

Beautiful Surroundings

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
My husband & I spent 2 nights there and wished it could have been longer. The room is very comfortable and has everything needed. The surroundings are breath taking. We spent both mornings just lounging around in no rush and enjoyed the room and food left for us. We hope to return one day!
2 out of 5
by Marion from NE

Real disappointment

Posted Apr 3, 2015 on Hotels
We're seasoned B&B travelers as we've stayed in countless B&Bs throughout the continental US and in Europe and this one failed. Although the facility was beautiful, the service killed it. WE saw our host once, and then we were forgotten. We were told breakfast would be in our rooms as they aren't licensed to servce breakfast - okay, but what about replenishing the items in the room each day? We barely had something to eat the second day. Plus little details were overlooked - like at least come in and make the bed, remove the trash, bring in clean cups, etc. but no - nothing was done! Also, the room needed to be checked with little items - like we had only one spoon for two people - how are you supposed to eat your yogurt with one spoon! There needed to be a step stool to help you get into the high bed. There was only one cereal container, etc. etc. Really a disappointing experience and not worth the money they charged. We definitely would not recommend this B&B to others.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

heaven on earth!

Posted Mar 9, 2015
I definitely love this place,all 5 stars!! We arrived late and tired that night,just got out of the plane had nothing to eat, surprisingly, the staff showed us there were enough food and snacks, even fresh fruits stocked in the room, free to eat! We couldn't be more happy and grateful!! The room is very cozy and romantic, we hung the curtain in the daytime so we could live in the tropical forest. The only downside is the wifi not so good however not a big deal. We didn't even want to step out of the room in the daytime and had our volcano tour behind the schedule! 99.99% satisfaction if the wifi is better:P You might find a big and overweight black cat around, like a fat pillow on the floor, super cute!