Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful Hualalai, breathtaking scenery

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Excellent combination of beauty, peacefulness.
Location: No need to leave resort!
Well designed resort, great amenities, spa, and golf
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beachfront with very little beach

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Beautiful grounds with nice views
Cons: Golf staff was just plain lazy and didn't care. Played golf at a huge price point and the next day they wanted to charge us 40 dollars each for range.
Location: Nothing nearby
Hotel was beautiful but staff was lacking. Golf staff was rude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great quick get away that was easy

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: The property is beautiful and staff cater to your needs. I also appreciate the responsiveness of Kana the manager, as she addressed an issue I had.
Cons: The rooms can be aired out more. The first one I had, had a mold smell. I tried keeping the windows open to address this and it didn't go away.
Location: There are 2 state beaches nearby. I do recommend Greenwell coffee farm and the Blue Hawaiian helicopter ride over the volcano and island.
The property is well done from a landscaping and layout perspective. The pools are amazing and you also have access to the beach if you want to swim in the ocean. The restaurants on-site are fabulous and you have a choice. I booked this vacation in a month before I went as a get away to relax and I got all that I wanted. There is an adult pool, great gym, and options onsite for spa and water activities. And, its very easy to rent a car for the day if you want to meander off to a coffee farm or local beach. The staff are courteous and ready to help you with every need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Treat me like I am special.

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: We liked everything. Restaurants are great.
Location: We took the volcano tour--very nice but a full 11 hours. Otherwise we stayed on site and just kicked back. We were amazed by the number of families.
Staff is very accommodating. We had a massage scheduled and four hours prior to the appointment we asked if we could move it up an hour. No problem! That kind of service was everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Four Seasons Hualalai Visit

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: Grounds are incredibly kept/Room was wonderful/Service was outstanding/amenities were to die for/ location great
Cons: Nothing
Stayed at the hotel for seven nights in a suite overlooking the golf course.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything you want plus people to clean your sung

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Exactly the sort of five-star experience we were hoping for on our visit to the big Island. Very expensive, but the service was gracious, attentive, and top-notch. Lots of turtles on the beach. Would like to see them protect the turtles better from tourists. But the resort was a phenomenal get away for a few days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Worth it

Posted Nov 21, 2015
This resort is not within our normal budget range but it was our honeymoon and we decided to splurge. We're glad we did. Staying at the Four Seasons Hualalai is an exquisite experience from the little details that the staff pays attention to, to the quality of the facilities. You will not regret staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Perfect Vacation!

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: Everything!
This was our second stay at the 4 Seasons on the Big Island. We came to celebrate our anniversary and had an amazing time. Everything about this place is 5-star. The food's great. The service is impeccable, the gym is much better than my gym at home. The pools are wonderful. The setting and views are phenomenal - just steps from the ocean. Can't wait for our return. There's not much nearby here. We come to enjoy the resort and didn''t rent a car. But if you're looking to eat out, be prepared to drive 20-30 minutes to the next closest place. My only complaint is the fact that the only sunscreen we found was priced at $35 for a bottle. While I'm OK paying extra for everything else at the resort, this seemed like highway robbery to me. Wish they had a more reasonably priced option for this staple item.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, Hawaii

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: The grounds, the golf, the pools.
Cons: The food was not a 5 star experience. We did have one good dinner in our room, and the $28.00 hamburgers were good. No beach to speak of.
Location: This side of the island is more dry then Kona. . .very good! We went to Waimea, beautiful Mountain town. There were some beautiful beaches nearby.
The hotel & resort are beautiful. I had stayed 18 years ago when on a business trip. I didn't realize the outrageous costs of EVERYTHING! The resort offers so much but the expense of a hamburger is $28.00 and I had a bowl of soup and 1/2 grilled cheese sandwich for $24.00. Ridiculous, insulting. The staff is top notch, the room as well. They put us in a room that had a beach view, however, it overlooked the kids pool and area. We have 8 grandchildren so we love children but because we were celebrating our 10th anniversary we had something different in mind, especially at $1000 a night. We were told this was our upgrade and in fairness we didn't asked to be moved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seoul

great hotel close to beach

Posted May 27, 2015
gorgeous coastline, comfortable lodging and nice staff. everything was satisfied.