Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no stay

Posted Jun 25, 2016
cancelled in plenty of time (almost two weeks) before scheduled arrival and did nit receiver a full refund Two night at $424.56 and was told I'd only get a refund of $146.66. Cheated out of almost $300.00. Robbery!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Felt at home

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Lovely place, I wanted to experience what is to live in big island with the comfort I had at home, and I got it. This is a beautiful house surrounding by nature in the country side of the mountain, very close to the volcano national park. If you don't mind sharing a house with other guests this is a great deal and very good experience. The room had it own bathroom. Other rooms can accommodate more people, before making a decision you should call Mahi, very helpful and excellent people and customer service skills. Definitely for the price and experience we would return here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Private and quiet Big Island retreat

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
This is a home, not really a hotel. We were the only guests during our stay. The caretaker (who lives offsite) gave us excellent tips on visiting Volcanoes National Park. The setting, while remote, was exactly what we wanted - quiet and private. Our breakfast was "make it yourself" with items supplied in the refrigerator. Downside: Had to purchase the coffee. We were really pleased with the speed of the WiFi connection; we were uploading our pictures to the internet, and at other places we stayed, the connections was too slow to do that. The house was pretty cold, but that is to be expected as the house sits at about 4,000 ft elevation. All in all, a very good value and we enjoyed our stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Isto não é um hotel, é uma casa abandonada

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
Horrivel, sem dúvida o pior "hotel" que já reservei. Aliás, não é um hotel, é uma casa não habitada cujos quartos são locados pela proprietária. A proprietária é grosseira e aparece apenas de manhã para preparar um café horrível. A casa toda é suja, mas a cozinha e seus equipamentos, principalmente a cafeteira e a geladeira, são imundas, o que te faz declinar do sofrível café da manhã, cheio de produtos congelados e potes de geleia ou embalagens abertas há um tempo indefinido. Há carpete na casa toda, o que desencadeia uma alergia nos propensos, já que aparenta não ser limpo há muito tempo. Não há qualquer serviço de limpeza ou arrumação dos quartos. O banheiro é minúsculo, não há calefação na casa. Quase congelamos na primeira noite pois a região é úmida e fria, apesar do desumidificador barrulhento ficar ligado na porta do quarto 24 horas. Fujam desta arapuca, há opções melhores na região, e mais próximas do Parque Nacional dos Vulcões.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overestimated hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
Actually, it is not hotel. It is B&B. We arrived at the house in a night. If you check in at the house at night. Think other option. It was really hard to find the location. While we were unable to find the house, we made a call to her. However she did not reply to me. During two night stay, she only provided one towel for each person. She was also late for serving breakfast. She did not appear even until 9 AM without any notice. There were many empty rooms. However, two families stayed adjacent rooms. She criticized me for making coffee because I used too much coffee powder. However she did not apology for the late the breakfast. I do not believe she treated us not likely what other guests evaluate because we came from Asia.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Damp cold and smelly bedroom

Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Wotif
Impressive large family house with beautiful deck and garden. Well presented with a lovely lounge and dining room and all decorated for Christmas. The manager was very helpful and friendly with lots of tips on where to visit, buy lunch etc. Well located for visiting the Volcano area but the bedroom was cold and damp and smelly. We slept fully clothed in long thermal underwear and fleeces! The dehumidifier that was roaring away should have been replaced long ago and switched on a lot more. The bedding was very old, the bath towels too. Small investments would make this a nice place to stay but as it was, it wasn't.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

calm & comfortable..

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
Good for family trip. The house was very calm and close to volcano park. We can watch thousands of stars at the garden in a clear night and it was wonderful experience and my son really enjoyed a fireplace at there. Finding entrance was not easy and i could hear the sound of next room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

soggiorno molto piacevole

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
Abbiamo soggiornato per due notti in questo b&b come base per la visita a Volcano National Park e ci siamo trovati benissimo. La proprietaria è stata molto gentile e professionale. Ci ha suggerito posti incantevoli da visitare. La camera era pulita e il bagno benche in comune con un'altra stanza è stato tutto per noi. La colazione confrutta, cereali lattee caffe è stat servita in un bellissimo lanai. Ritorneremmo volentieri inquesto b&b.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Bonita estancia

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Las areas comunes, el jardin, las orquideas, la Paz que se respira
Location: Visita al parque nacional de Volcanes de la isla grande
Jardin hermoso! La persona que nos atendio muy amable nos ayudo con mapas y tips para Los recorridos!! Un lugar muy agradable a 10 minutos manejando del parque nacional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from v

Finding paradise

Posted May 1, 2015
Always came home to a tidy home ((stayed 2weeks) loved the coffee and the fruit each morning, Mahi always had sis festoons for us to do and eat out at. Local inside information. Went to see the volcano eruption, hadn't erupted since 1968? The lodge is very big and beautiful.. Hidden back in the countryside everthough the frist drive at night might seem far or like your lost it's easy after the first trip 4.4 miles excactly off hwy 11 off wright rd just fallow it up there's a left bend in the roads then about 1 mile there's a rt turn then a small country one lane travel it 1.4 miles look for the st sign that reads sleepy hallo slow down it's the next left driveway pull pup to the main entry unload then park into the marked parking area, don't forget to take your shoes off, local tradition..... Enjoy your stay as we did...... Aloha