Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

No more breakfast offered

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Tranquility. The place is located almost the bottom of the road which you feel almost in the middle of nowhere so no noise at all.
Location: There are a lot of things to do around Volcano National park. Make sure you buy some food in Hilo as the number of restaurants and shops are limited.
We booked this place because it was advertised as a bed & breakfast but we were told that they no longer offer breakfast. Well it's OK as anyone who stays this place should have a car (otherwise you can't reach) to get some food but I thought the way they advertised on Expedia was misleading. The place was a huge house with 6 or 7 bedrooms with ensuite and had a large garden. For our first night we didn't have other guests and the place didn't seem to have had guests for a couple of days before so the whole house was very cold when we arrived. There were a few fire places but we didn't use them because we simply didn't like to cause any trouble. So we ended up turning on a few small convection heaters in our room and the lounge which were not that effective to heat that huge house. When another guest arrived and used their room's heater the electricity breaker went off which made us to call the owner to reset the breaker. She obviously looked unpleasant being called after dark and told us to reduce the heaters, which was obviously not a welcomed instruction. Maybe the place does not have such issue during summer or when it's got more guests but we were not quite happy with the way they dealt with the situation. So overall the atmosphere of the place itself was nice and Volcano is the place definitely worth visiting but I would look for other place for my accommodation if you don't like to struggle with the cold house.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no stay

Posted Jun 25, 2016
cancelled in plenty of time (almost two weeks) before scheduled arrival and did nit receiver a full refund Two night at $424.56 and was told I'd only get a refund of $146.66. Cheated out of almost $300.00. Robbery!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Felt at home

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Lovely place, I wanted to experience what is to live in big island with the comfort I had at home, and I got it. This is a beautiful house surrounding by nature in the country side of the mountain, very close to the volcano national park. If you don't mind sharing a house with other guests this is a great deal and very good experience. The room had it own bathroom. Other rooms can accommodate more people, before making a decision you should call Mahi, very helpful and excellent people and customer service skills. Definitely for the price and experience we would return here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from v

Finding paradise

Posted May 1, 2015
Always came home to a tidy home ((stayed 2weeks) loved the coffee and the fruit each morning, Mahi always had sis festoons for us to do and eat out at. Local inside information. Went to see the volcano eruption, hadn't erupted since 1968? The lodge is very big and beautiful.. Hidden back in the countryside everthough the frist drive at night might seem far or like your lost it's easy after the first trip 4.4 miles excactly off hwy 11 off wright rd just fallow it up there's a left bend in the roads then about 1 mile there's a rt turn then a small country one lane travel it 1.4 miles look for the st sign that reads sleepy hallo slow down it's the next left driveway pull pup to the main entry unload then park into the marked parking area, don't forget to take your shoes off, local tradition..... Enjoy your stay as we did...... Aloha
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blackfoot, Alberta

Hidden Beauty in the Rainforest

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: The hostess was so helpful, the rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and breakfast was great. You felt very welcomed and at home at Halana Hale.
Cons: Just a couple ruts if you dirve out the 1 way, but not only way to exit.
Location: Volcano Village a short drive away has grocery stores/gas station, art gallery, variety of restaurants, gift shops, and nearby is Volcano National Par
The hostess gave accurate directions to get there, was very informative of which way was the best to travel depending on the weather, what to check out on the way there and back. Also what there was in the area to do, and what places we could go to eat while describing them perfectly. Breakfast was very enjoyable, and trying new things was awesome. To us it was a short drive off the main road thru the rainforest that was so enjoyable. The variety of plants, and smells we all enjoyed getting away to someplace quiet and peaceful. All of us had a great 2 nights sleep, the beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. I would definitely stay there again, and suggest staying to anyone going to Hawaii, especially if they are visiting the Volcano area to spend time there. For it was so convenient to stay there and see everything in the Volcano area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2014
wonderful,beautiful beach, excellent location, I will recommend to my all friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Large and comfortable

Posted Aug 28, 2014
The host was wonderful and helpful. The place was huge. It would be great if you want to book multiple rooms. Check out their website directly to see all the possible rooms you can book.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kailua-Kona, HI

Peaceful, but not suitable for allergy sufferers.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Cons: The carpet should be either completely removed or replaced.
The house is at the end of a quiet road, and has nice large common areas. Most of the rooms are quite spacious and have nice Hawaiian quilts. Our original room (the Kea'au Room) had a strong smell of mildew and was quite narrow. The manager (we never met the owners) moved us to two adjoining rooms which were nicer. However, there is wall-to-wall carpeting throughout the house (except the kitchen and one common room), and Volcano is a rain forest. Our son had the worst asthma attack of his life, and had to stay on the lanai or in the kitchen. Each time he tried to go back to his carpeted bedroom his asthma got worse. We had to leave very early the next morning, but the caretaker left out breakfast food for us. Unfortunately, the milk was spoiled (the best before date was from almost two weeks previous) and the cereal stale. Perhaps if we had been there later for the caretaker to prepare the breakfast, it would be have better. Even though we paid for a second night we decided to leave after the first.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terry from Grand Rapids, MI

Nice bed and breakfast

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Hotel out in the country a few miles out of town. Hostess very nice. Helpful with information and directions. Good comunication. Small continental breakfast served. Living counters and hot tube is open to guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quite hotel with a very nice garden and balcony.

Posted Feb 16, 2014
the hotel has very large shared areas like big living room, dining room, kitchen and television room. also the large balance makes the stay very pleasant